- Article Indexes
- U.S. Foreign Policy
- Intelligence Agencies
- Foreign Policies of Other Nations
- United Nations
- Non Government Sources
Selected government and non-government sources relevant to foreign policy and international relations are described. Consult the following for additional information.
- Economic and Social Statistics: International Data
Retrieve statistics about regions and nations throughout the world.
- Foreign Countries and Intergovernmental Organizations (IGOs)
Links to databases and directories about countries and international organizations throughout the world.
- Resources by Subject: Political Science
Lists and describes selected databases recommended by the Libraries' Political Science Librarian.
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)
Includes policy briefs, publications of non-governmental organizations and think-tanks, and country data from a variety of government sources.
WWW Virtual Library: International Affairs Resources (Wayne A. Selcher, Professor of International Studies, Department of Political Science, Elizabethtown College)
A comprehensive guide that covers news sources, international governmental organizations, nongovernmental groups, regions, and selected topics. Subjects include conflict resolution; environment; human rights; humanitarian issues; international business; international development; international law; labor; and religions.
Index to Military Periodicals (U.S. Department of Defense. Defense Technical Information Center. Air University Library)
Indexes English language journals about military science. Many articles have foreign policy implications.
PAIS International Online (Public Affairs Information Service)
Indexes books, articles, government publications, gray literature, research and conference reports, international agency publications, and internet resources covering all aspects of public affairs. Dates range from 1915 through the present.
Current International Newspapers
The following links to current international newspapers published throughout the world.
- Internet Public Library
Factiva (Dow Jones)
Indexes and provides full text of almost 8,000 newspapers, articles, and news wires published throughout the world. Search the entire database, or select specific sources, industries, or regions. Dates vary depending upon the source.
New York Times
View full texts of articles published since June 1980. See also:
- New York Times Archive
Indexes articles in the New York Times from 1851-1980. The newspaper sells copies, but library users are advised to use microfilm for no charge in the Capen Multimedia Center (MicFilm AN256 .N52).
- New York Times: Historical Index
Provides limited coverage from 1863 to 1905, and 1913 to September 1922.
- New York Times Index
Lockwood Reference Index Area AI21 .N44 (1851+)
- Personal Name Index to "The New York Times Index"
Lockwood Reference: CT104 .F28 (1851-1984)
Provides online access from 1977 to data. See also:
- Washington Post Archive
Indexes and sells articles published since 1877.
- Washington Post Microfilm
Capen Multimedia Center MicFilm AN141 .W47 (1964 - present)
World News Connection (Dialog)
Translates foreign media and broadcasts from throughout the world into English. Dates cover 1996 through the present.
U.S. Foreign Policy
Congressional hearings are forums held by Congressional committees where invited experts provide testimony to the committees, and committee members afterwards question the witnesses. Hearings cover all aspects of U.S. foreign policy and national security. The following selected sources are good starting points for locating hearings:
- ProQuest Congressional
Indexes Congressional publications from their beginnings in the early 19th Century through the present.
- U.S. House of Representatives
Browse publications of key committees, such as Armed Services and International Relations.
- U.S. Senate
Browse publications of key committees, such as Armed Services and Foreign Relations.
Development Experience Clearinghouse (U.S. Agency for International Development)
A database of over 100,000 technical reports and project evaluations. Many
items are full-text.
Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy (Facts on File)
Lockwood Reference E183.7 .H28 2004
Lockwood Reference E183.7 .E52 2002
Foreign Affairs of the United States (U.S. Government Printing Office in cooperation with Oklahoma State University)
Lists and describes key U.S. government resources.
Foreign Assistance Dashboard (U.S. Department of State and U.S. Agency for International Development)
Enables Americans to understand how and where U.S. foreign aid is spent. It now covers spending by the Department of State, the Agency for International Development, and the Millennium Challenge Corporation, but additional agencies will be phased in. The Web site is intended for transparency, not an accounting tool.
Foreign Relations of the United States (U.S. Department of State. Office of the Historian)
Lockwood Book Collection JX233 .A3 (1932-1954)
Lockwood Documents US S 1.1: (1945-1976)
Capen Multimedia Center US MicFiche S 1.1 (1952-1968)
Law General Collection INT 21.98 U65 (1932-1976)
Law Koren MicFiche INT 21.98 U65 (1952-1968)
Reproduces the memos and other documents between U.S. ambassadors and other Department of State staff and Washington. This data is the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity. See also:
- Emerging Nation: Foreign Relations of the United States 1780-1789 (National Historical Publications and Records Commission)
Lockwood Documents US AE 1.114/3: N21
Law General Collection E303.E44 1996
Reprints from a variety of sources diplomatic dispatches, treaties, private letters, and other material from the early years of U.S. diplomacy.
- Foreign Relations of the United States (University of Wisconsin Digital Collections Center)
Search and view digital copies of Foreign Relations of the United States between 1861 and 1960.
- Papers Relating to the Foreign Relations of the United States 1861-1931 (U.S. Department of State)
Lockwood Book Collection JX233 .A3
Law General Collection INT 21.98 U65
Information is comparable to that in Foreign Relations of the United States.
Strategic Studies Institute (U.S. Department of Defense. US Army War College)
Provides research and analysis to support the Army War College curricula. Locate information by regions, by topics, and by searching key words. The comprehensive books, papers, and reports emphasize relationships between foreign policy and national security.
Terrorism: A Select Guide to Information (State University at Buffalo. Arts and Sciences Libraries)
UB Librarians selected what they believe are the most useful information sources.
United States Department of State
The U.S. Department of State is the lead U.S. foreign affairs agency responsible for implementing the President's foreign policies. Selected key parts of this Web site are:
- Country Pages A to Z
Links to information about nations throughout the world. Data include maps, speeches, press releases, fact sheets, U.S. embassy home pages, and links to major reports.
- Country Reports on Terrorism (2004+)
An annual report that describes terrorism and terrorist activities in nations throughout the world. Earlier editions were published as Patterns of Global Terrorism (1996-2003).
- Electronic Research Collection (ERC) (University of Chicago at Illinois)
Archives Department of State data covering 1990-1997.
- Human Rights Report (1993+)
An annual report that describes individual, civil, political, and worker rights in foreign countries.
- Report on International Religious Freedom (1997+)
Describes religious freedom in nearly 200 nations.
- Subject Index
A comprehensive guide to State Department information.
USAGov: Defense and International Relations (U.S. General Services Administration)
FirstGov is the federal government's attempt to create a one-stop shopping mall for all its information. Topics cover agencies and organizations; countries and regions; the State Department and Foreign Service; immigration and citizenship; foreign trade; international travel; and defense.
U.S. Agency for International Development (USAID)
The Agency for International Development (AID) coordinates American non-military foreign aid. Examples include development assistance, agricultural assistance, and humanitarian aid following natural disasters. The Our Work and Policy links describe work in selected areas including health; poverty; environment; and education, and the Locations link lists information about specific nations. References within AID's Budget & Spending link (http://www.usaid.gov/results-and-data/budget-spending) are particularly useful.
- Foreign Assistance Dashboard illustrates where U.S. foreign aid goes.
- Congressional Budget Justification to Congress includes AID’s Annual Performance Report for the previous fiscal year and it’s Annual Performance Plan for the upcoming fiscal year.
- Overseas Loans and Grants (Greenbook) summarizes data about foreign assistance since 1945, emphasizing the most recent years.
- Official Development Assistance is a report submitted to the Organization for Economic Co-Operation and Development (OECD), Development Assistance Committee that describes American foreign assistance.
- Dollars to Results, links AIDs spending to results in selected developing countries.
Center for the Study of Intelligence (U.S. Central Intelligence Agency)
Conducts intelligence related research, and publishes related books and a journal, Studies in Intelligence. Significant links are:
- Books and Monographs Published by the Center for the Study of Intelligence
- Studies in Intelligence
- Studies in Intelligence (Index of Declassified Articles)
Intelligence Resource Program (Federation of American Scientists)
Reproduces official and unofficial documents about intelligence policy, structure, and operations. Special links lead to current news; hot documents; Congressional materials; relevant information produced outside the intelligence community; budget issues; and links to foreign intelligence agencies.
National Security Archives (George Washington University)
Collects and publishes declassified documents. The Archive acquires information through the Freedom of Information Act, mandatory declassification reviews, presidential paper collections, congressional data, court testimonies, agency Web sites, and federal records repositories.
U.S. Intelligence Community: Information Resources (Columbia University. Lehman Social Sciences Library)
Provides selected links about U.S. intelligence activities. Topics cover the background; Congressional oversight and budgeting; bibliographies and indexes; classified and declassified information; intelligence reform; and links to specific intelligence agencies.
U.S. National Intelligence Council
Provides the President, the Director of National Intelligence (DNI), and senior policymakers analyses of foreign policy issues. Links lead to publications; analytic methodologies; and data compiled for the 2020 project that attempts to forecasts international affairs
Foreign Policies of other Nations
Both sites link to policies, documents, and publications about all aspects of British foreign affairs and international aid.
- Department for International Development
- Foreign & Commonwealth Office
Canada's Foreign Policy (Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada)
References deal with the Arctic, the Americas, economic issues, foreign relations, human rights, international organizations, international security, the National Holocaust Monument, natural disasters, the Office of Religious Freedom, and stabilization and reconstruction.
SITES INTERNET (United Nations)
Links to UN affiliated agencies.
UN Documentation Centre
View documents and press releases issued by the General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council, Secretariat, International Court of Justice, and the Trusteeship Council.
United Nations Documentation: Research Guide
Leads to basic research tools, press releases, and indexes; plus descriptions of and documentation published by the General Assembly, Security Council, and the Economic and Social Council.
American Foreign Policy Council (AFPC)
Serves as an information dissemination mechanism for American and other world leaders. Emphasis is upon the former USSR, developing democracies, and market economies. Links lead to publications and free bulletins that update readers on issues, and current news. AFPC follows a right of center viewpoint.
Council on Foreign Relations
A nonpartisan think tank that investigates foreign policy topics. Locate information by regions; issues; and publications. Publications include background and analysis; task force reports; meeting transcripts; and must reads.
Foreign Policy Association
A non-profit organization that promotes education in foreign affairs. View data about popular topics; and browse or search the Resource Library by issues, regions, and types of materials.
A think tank that emphasizes national security, business, health and education, law, and science. Select relevant topics from the Research Areas tab or browse the Reports & Bookstore tab. Purchase the reports and books, or view them online at no cost.
Treaties and Other International Agreement (State University at Buffalo. Arts and Sciences Libraries)
Describes key treaty sources in the Arts & Sciences Libraries as well as the Law Library.
United States Institute of Peace
An independent, nonpartisan group that attempts to prevent conflicts and promote post-conflict stability. Select the Publications tab to access thorough and comprehensive documents. Congress established and funds the Institute.