Additional data can be found on the Resources by Subject - Education website.
- US Federal
- New York State
- NYS School Districts
- All School Districts
- Data About Education
US Federal Government Information
Browse Topics: Education (Oklahoma State University)
Links to key federal government Web sites covering all aspects of education. Browse Topics is a good starting point for education research.
Browse Topics: Education Statistics
Both Browse Topics sites link to key sources of education and educational statistics in multiple federal agencies.
Related Census Bureau topics include:
- Economic Census--Educational Services
Presents data about trade, professional, business, and art schools, and educational testing services for states. Select code 61. The Economic Census excludes elementary, secondary, and higher education. The Census Bureau takes the Economic Census in years ending with 2 and 7. The most current data available covers 2007. Note that selected files are zipped and in a "pipe delimited". Contact Ed Herman for help.
- Educational Attainment
Measures the highest levels of education achieved.
- Postsecondary Students, Costs, and Financial Aid
Measures higher education costs and financial aid offered to students.
- School Districts Data
Provides demographic, economic, geographic, and fiscal data for school districts
- School Enrollment
Measures the number of children and adults enrolled in school.
- Statistics in Schools
Introduces students to the use of everyday statistics. Separate sections cover information for teachers, kids, teens, and provide resources and videos.
ED Data Express (U.S. Department of Education)
Provides state data about student achievement, accountability, and performance, plus demographic information. View snapshots, graphs, maps, and trendlines, and create customized tables.
Education Resource Organizations Directory (U.S. Department of Education)
A directory to organizations and groups that provide information and assistance on a broad range of education-related topics.
Educational Resources Information Center (ERIC) (U.S. Department of Education)
ERIC is a database of journal articles and other documents covering all aspects of education from 1966 to 2004. The University Libraries own the majority of journals that ERIC indexes. Most other documents are available on microfiche in the Capen Multimedia Center at MicFiche LB 1028 .U485. See the ERIC Microform Profile ( http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/asl/guides/microforms/eric-doc.html ) for more information about locating ERIC documents on microfiche in the UB Libraries.
Financial Aid (U.S. Department of Education)
Information includes finding, applying for, and repaying financial aid for education. Additional sources cover news and information for financial aid professionals.
Free Federal Resources for Educational Excellence (U.S. Department of Education)
A compilation of educational materials produced by 30 federal agencies.
Institute of Education Sciences (U.S. Department of Education)
Congress created the Institute to advance education research. It includes three agencies:
- National Center for Education Evaluation and Regional Assistance (NCEE)
- National Center for Education Research (NCER)
- National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS) Peer Analysis System (U.S. Department of Education. National Center for Education Statistics)
Compare data about colleges and universities and their peer institutions.
National Center for Education Statistics (U.S. Department of Education)
The statistical producing agency within the Education Department. Examples of key sources are:
- The Condition of Education
- The Digest of Education Statistics
- Projections of Education Statistics
- Indicators of School Crime and Safety
Use the NCES Electronic Catalog and On-line Library ( http://nces.ed.gov/pubsearch/ ) to locate publications and data products through customized searches.
U.S. Department of Education
Topics cover funding, policy, research, student loans, and No Child Left Behind. Separate sections present information for teachers, parents and families, pre-school –grade12 reforms, and college completion.
Whitehouse Social Statistics Briefing Room (SSBR) (U.S. Department of Education. National Center for Education Statistics)
Provides links to popular, newsworthy education statistics. Emphasis is on educational achievement.
New York State Government Information
New York State Department of Education
Contains a wealth of information about education issues in New York State. Use Topics A to Z ( http://usny.nysed.gov/topics/home.html ) to retrieve information about specific subjects.
New York State Resources on Education and Training (New York State Library)
A compilation of educational resources prepared by various New York State agencies including the Education Department, the Department of State, the State University, the Higher Education Services Corporation, and the Legislature.
Office of Elementary, Middle, Secondary, and Continuing Education (New York State Education Department)
Administers programs for elementary, secondary, and continuing education programs in New York State. Topics cover curriculum; learning standards; general education and Regents diploma requirements; funding opportunities; school district data, management, and budget issues; and school violence. Separate sections provide information for citizens; people with disabilities; licensed professionals; parents; school administrators; students; and teachers.
New York State School Districts
Buffalo Public School District
NYS School Report Cards (New York State Department of Education. Office of Elementary, Middle, Secondary, and Continuing Education)
School District Report cards describe student performances on standardized tests.
EMSC Subject/Program Contact List (New York State Department of Education. Office of Elementary, Middle, Secondary, and Continuing Education (EMSC))
Covers dozens of topics that affect New York State Schools. Examples include administrative salaries; annual performance reviews; financial aid; charter schools; school accountability; special education; school report cards; and education in specific disciplines.
Education & Schools (University at Buffalo. Regional Institute)
Covers statistics, maps, and directories to schools in Western New York.
All School Districts
Information on Public School and School Districts in the United States (U.S. Department of Education. National Center for Education Statistics)
View statistics about individual school districts and schools based upon the federal government's Common Core Data (CCD) survey. Information collected covers names and addresses of schools and school districts; numbers of students; student teacher ratios; racial and ethnic compositions; special education statistics; numbers of graduates; and educational finance.
School District Demographics (U.S. Department of Education. National Center for Education Statistics)
Create tables that measure school district demographics. Sources include the 1990 and 2000 censuses and mid-decade estimates.
Data About Education
ChildStats.gov (U.S. Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics)
Provides access to federal and state statistics about children and families. Topics pertain to family characteristics; economics; health; behavior and social environment; education; international comparisons; and directories to further information. The annual report, America's Children: Key National Indicators of Well-Being , is a key publication produced by the Forum. ( http://childstats.gov/americaschildren/ )
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
ICPSR is one of the largest data archives in the world. Three collections pertain to education.
- Child Care and Early Education Research Connections
Provides over 15,000 interdisciplinary resources about all aspects of child care and early education.
- PreK-3rd Data Resource Center
Emphasis is upon datasets that cover early childhood education and development.
- NCAA Student-Athlete Experiences Data Archive
Datasets deal with topics pertaining to intercollegiate sports and higher education.
Comparative Indicators of Education in the United States and Other G-8 Countries: 2011 (U.S. Department of Education. National Center for Education Statistics)
“…describes key education outcomes and contexts of education in the Group of Eight (G-8) countries—Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, the Russian Federation, the United Kingdom, and the United States. The report is organized into five topical areas: population and school enrollment, academic performance, contexts for learning, expenditures for education, and educational attainment and income. Results are drawn from the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development’s (OECD) ongoing Indicators of Education Systems (INES) program, as well as the Program for International Student Assessment (PISA), which is also coordinated by the OECD.” (Abstract)
Education, Training, and Learning (Statistics Canada)
Topics deal with general education, adult education, educational finance, education indicators, educational attainment, and fields of study, literacy, educational outcomes, and educators.
For additional information about Canadian government resources, visit http://library.buffalo.edu/libraries/asl/guides/busdoc/canada_docs.html.
UNESCO Education Information Service
The United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization is the UN body that promotes education, literacy, and culture. Links lead to information about learning materials; early childhood; e-learning; poverty eradication; primary, secondary, and higher education; science and technology; vocational education; child labor; and sustainable development. Consult http://www.unesco.org/unesdi/ for a directory to UNESCO information sources.
United Nations CyberSchoolBus (United Nations)
The CyberSchoolbus attempts to promote education about international issues affecting the UN. The teaching materials and activities are intended for primary, intermediate, and secondary school levels. Data includes summary statistics for nations; flags; art; resources for classrooms; and files for downloading.