Skip to Content
ublogo print

University at Buffalo Libraries

Research Design and Methods Reading List


Research Design and Methods Reading List

  1. Abelson, R. P. Statistics as Principled Argument. Hillsdale, NJ: Lawrence Erlbaum, 1995.
    Lockwood Library Book Collection QA276 .A22 1995
  2. Bickman, L. J., and D. J. Rog, eds. Handbook of Applied Social Research Methods. Thousand Oaks: Sage, 1998.
    Lockwood Library Book Collection H62 .H24534 1998
  3. King, Gary, Robert O. Keohane, and Sidney Verba. 1994. Designing Social Inquiry. Princeton: Princeton University Press, 1994.
    Lockwood Library Book Collection H61 .K5437 1994
  4. Locke, Lawrence F., Waneen Wyrick Spirduso, and Stephen J. Silverman. 2007. Proposals that Work: A Guide for Planning Dissertations and Grant Proposals. 5th ed. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage, 2007.
    Silverman Library Science & Engineering Book Collection Q180.55 .P7 L63 2007
  5. Loether, H. J., and D. G. McTavish. 1974. Descriptive Statistics for Sociologists: An Introduction. Boston: Allyn & Bacon, 1974
    Lockwood Library Book Collection HA29 .L6
  6. Miles, M. B., and A. M. Huberman. Qualitative Data Analysis: An Expanded Sourcebook. 2nd ed. Thousand Oaks: Sage, 1994.
    Lockwood Library Book Collection H62 .M437 1994
  7. Miller, D. C. 1983. Handbook of Research Design and Social Measurement. 4th ed. New York: Longman, 1983.
    Lockwood Library Book Collection H 62 M647h 1964
    Lockwood library Book Collection H62 .M44 2002
  8. Singleton, Royce A., and Bruce C. Straits. 2004. Approaches to Social Research. 4th ed. New York, NY: Oxford University Press, 2004.
    Lockwood Library Book Collection H61 .G73 2004
  9. Weiss, Robert S. 1995. Learning from Strangers: The Art and Method of Qualitative Interview Studies. New York, NY: Free Press, 1995.
    Lockwood Library Book Collection HN29 .W42 1995
  10. Yin, Robert. 2002. Case Study Research: Design and Methods. 3rd ed. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage
    Architecture & Planning Book Collection H62 .Y56 2003
  11. Zeisel, John. 2006. Inquiry by Design: Environment / Behavior / Neuroscience in Architecture, Interiors, Landscape and Planning. New York, NY: W.W. Norton & Company, 2006.
    Architecture & Planning Book Collection BF353 .Z44 2006