The Government Documents collection in Lockwood Library contains selected titles in print and electronic formats from the United States Department of Defense. These titles may be accessed through the Libraries Catalog using an author search for United States Dept of Defense or a keyword search for department of defense. These titles may also be browsed in the Lockwood Documents shelves under the SuDoc call number US D.
In searching for military-related Web sites, the metasearch engine SearchMil ( http://www.searchmil.com ) returns only results from United States military addresses (i.e., those ending in the .mil suffix). This can be useful for filtering out unofficial Web sites.
Department of Defense
Air University Library's Index to Military Periodicals (AULIMP) (U.S. Department of Defense. Defense Technical Information Center)
Indexes articles, news items, and editorials in English language journals relating to military and aeronautical affairs.
Browse Topics: Defense & Military (U.S. Government Printing Office in cooperation with Oklahoma State University)
Annotated links to defense-related web sites.
Department of Defense DefenseLINK (U.S. Department of Defense)
DefenseLINK is the Department of Defense's official Web site, and a good starting point for locating defense data.
Department of Defense Websites (U.S. Department of Defense)
Browse an alphabetical list of dozens of DoD Web sites.
Defense Technical Information Center (U.S. Department of Defense)
Collects and disseminates unclassified scientific and technical information for the Department of Defense.
Foreign Military Studies Office (U.S. Department of Defense. Army. Ft. Leavenworth Joint Reserve Intelligence Center (JRIC)
Provides full-text publications on regions and topics, as well as research links.
JCS Link: The Joint Chiefs of Staff
Contains current news, text of speeches, and publications such as National Defense Strategy and National Military Strategy .
National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency
The agency responsible for geospatial intelligence, NIMA features fact sheets, news, and product information. Many NIMA documents and maps can be found in the Science & Engineering Library's documents collection and Map Room. Search the Classic catalog for national imagery and mapping agency.
National Security Agency
The federal government's cryptologic organization provides speeches and briefings, as well as a history of NSA activities and OPENDOOR, a bibliographic index to declassified documents.
Public STINET (Scientific and Technical Information Network) (U.S. Department of Defense. Defense Technical Information Center)
Provides citations and selected full text access to unclassified Department of Defense reports.
United States Armed Forces
Army National Guard
U.S. Army War College
U.S. Air Force
U.S. Marine Corps
Foreign and International
External Relations (European Union)
Presents summaries of legislation about relations with third world nations, humanitarian aid, development, trade, human rights, foreign and security policies, and international agreements.
Federation of American Scientists (FAS)
Provides a good overview of U.S. and international defense issues. The Strategic Security section includes information about the U.S. chain of command; arms trade; biological,chemical and nuclear weapons; intelligence; terrorism; American and foreign weapons systems; and space weapons.
Foreign and Security Policy (European Union)
Provides links, documentation, and legal texts and policies.
International Military and Defense Encyclopedia ( IMADE ) (Maxwell Macmillan)
Lockwood Reference U 24 I58 1993 6 volumes
A comprehensive encyclopedia to military and defense information.
Military Balance (Institute for Strategic Studies)
Lockwood UA15 L652 year (1966/1967+ with gaps; most recent 2 editions in Reference)
Accesses military forces and expenditures in 169 nations. Topics for each country pertain to manpower and equipment by branches of service; and deployments. The most recent years have special sections on non-state forces.
National Defence and the Canadian Armed Forces
Stockholm International Peace Research Institute (SIPRI)
An independent institute that researches issues affecting peace and conflict. Significant SIPRI resources include:
- SIPRI Yearbook: Armaments, Disarmament and International Security
Lockwood UA 10 S69 ( 1969+ with gaps; most recent in Reference)
Includes informative essays about current conflicts and arms transfers.
Several SIPRI databases at http://www.sipri.org/databases provide informative information:
- Facts on international relations and security trends
Provides a federated system of databases on topics related to international relations and security, accessible through a single integrated user interface.
- SIPRI multilateral peace operations database
Offers information on all UN and non-UN peace operations conducted since 2000, including location, dates of deployment and operation, mandate, participating countries, number of personnel, costs and fatalities.
- SIPRI military expenditure database
Gives consistent time series on the military spending of 172 countries since 1988, allowing comparison of countries’ military spending : in local currency, at current prices; in US dollars, at constant prices and exchange rates ; and as a share of GDP.
- SIPRI arms transfers database
Shows all international transfers in seven categories of major conventional arms since 1950, the most comprehensive publicly available source of information on international arms transfers.
- SIPRI arms embargoes database
This database gives information on all arms embargoes that have been implemented by an international organisation, such as the EU or UN, or by a group of nations. All embargoes that are in force, or have been in force since 1998, are included.
- SIPRI national reports database
This Database provides links to all publicly accessible national reports on arms exports. The Database is constantly updated to include links to newly published national reports on arms exports.
United Nations Peacekeeping (United Nations. Department of Peacekeeping Operations)
Provides documents, statistics, and overviews of both current and past UN peacekeeping operations.