Skip to Content
ublogo print

University at Buffalo Libraries

Audio Visual Guide


UB Collections | Open Video and Audio | Streaming Pay-per-view | News and Current Events | Continuing Education


UB Collections

Digital Campus (for UB Faculty)
A collection of more than 19,000 feature films, classic films, and documentaries that can be embedded directly into the Blackboard course management system and will allow students the flexibility of semester-long, 24/7 access to course-assigned films beyond the traditional classroom setting.

Ambrose Video
Ambrose Video Publishing is a leading distributor of broadcast-quality documentaries and educational videos to schools, libraries and other institutions.  UB’s collection includes streaming video of The Miracle of the Human Body and the complete BBC Shakespeare plays. 

DRAM (Database of Recorded American Music)
DRAM Provides recordings of American music, long with liner notes and essays, from the catalogues of New World Records, Albany, innova, Cedille, XI, Pogus, Deep Listening and Mutable Music labels.The music covers classical, folk, jazz, opera, Native American, electronic, musical theater and contemporary/experimental genres. More Info

Medcom Nursing Video
Streaming video collection of continuing education videos for nurses.  Medcom/Trainex is accredited as a provider of continuing nursing education by the American Nurses Credentialing Center's Commission on Accreditation.

Medici.tv
Medici.tv is a provider of online streaming video of classical music performances by leading contemporary musical artists. It contains live performances in real-time or delayed streaming, recorded concerts, ballets, operas, concert films, documentaries, and archival films. Much of the live content is provided free of charge while viewing the films requires a subscription. The archival performances and documentaries include performances and interviews with a full roster of the most famous classical musicians of the twentieth century.

Alexander Street Counseling
This database contains 300 videos (350 hours) of online streaming videos of actual and simulated sessions of counseling and psychotherapy. It also includes lectures, interviews with well-known therapists, and excerpts from psychological consultations.

Naxos Music Library
The most comprehensive collection of classical music available online. It includes the complete Naxos, Marco Polo and Da Capo catalogues of over 75,000 tracks, including Classical music, Historical recordings, Jazz, World, Folk and Chinese music.


Open Video and Audio: freely accessible collections of quality audio and video resources

American Indian Film Gallery
The AIFG presently contains over 450 non-fiction films that document Native ways of life from the Arctic Circle to Tierra del Fuego, with a large concentration on peoples of the Southwest. The films range from a 1922 silent newsreel to recent footage of pow-wows and political meetings in 2011.

ARKive
Presents a collection of vivid wildlife films and photographs, with more than 3,500 of the world’s leading filmmakers and photographers actively contributing to the project.

BBC
History of the World in 100 Objects:  Audio series available as a podcast and including photographs outlining the history of human civilization by examining 100 objects from our past. 
Science and Nature:  Audio and video series focusing on various topics in nature and science relating to our planet.

Civil Rights Digital Library
Provides access to online films, images and audio recordings related to the Civil Rights movement in the United States in the 1950s and 1960s. 

Classic Cinema Online
Watch and discuss classic and vintage movies online free.

Crackle
Crackle is free, full length movies, television shows and original programming.

Documentaries
Best Free Documentary Web Sites, from How-To Geek, a nice listing of free doc sites.

GoWatchIt
Use GoWatchIt to discover where the movies you want to see are available whether in Theaters, on DVD or Blu-ray, Online or On Demand. Keep track of your movies and receive alerts when they become available or see what your friends are watching, and plan a movie night.

Internet Archive
The Moving Image Archive: This library contains free movies, films, and videos.  Over a million digital movies uploaded by Archive users ranging from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts.
Audio Archive: This library audio and MP3 contains over two hundred thousand free digital recordings ranging from alternative news programming, to Grateful Dead concerts, to Old Time Radio shows, to book and poetry readings, to original music uploaded by users.

Lannan
New live programming is added every month with audio and video content to their event archives. By searching the biography section, you’ll find rich material on over 450 writers, poets, artists, and cultural thinkers. 

Library of Congress
American Memory: Provides access to several hundred early motion pictures and covers historical events that shaped our national identity.
Motion Picture & Television Reading Room:  In addition to the other programs in this list, this page provides links to other collections of early video recordings, including, among other things, a large jazz on film collection. 
Recorded Sound Reference Center:  Provides access to the commercial and archival audio holdings of the Library of Congress. The collection dates from 1926 when Victor Records donated over 400 discs to the Library's Music Division to supplement its print and manuscript holdings.
American Folklife Center: Documentation of voices and music of many regional, ethnic, and cultural groups, in the United States and around the world.

National Film Board of Canada
Award-winning online Screening Room, featuring over 2,000 films, excerpts, trailers and interactive works.  The films on this site can be streamed free of charge, or downloaded for personal use for a small fee. The collection includes documentaries, animations, experimental films and fiction.

Open Culture
Brings together high-quality cultural & educational media for the worldwide lifelong learning community. Free audio books, free online courses, free movies, free language lessons, free ebooks and other enriching content.

PBS

  • American Experience:  View complete episodes from the documentary series, which focuses on the history of the United States.
  • NOVA:  View complete episodes of selected programs from the science series.
  • PBS LearningMedia: The collection aligns with Common Core Standards for preK-12 classrooms and contains more than 114,000 research-based instructional resources including videos, interactives, images, audio files, mobile apps, lesson plans, and worksheets.
  • PBS Video:  In addition to the other programs in this list, PBS Video allows access to selected programs from other PBS series. 
  • POV Video:  View full length films, short films and lesson plan-based clips from documentary film series, which focuses on contemporary social issues.
  • Frontline: View complete episodes of the public affairs series. 

Science Cinema
Science Cinema highlights leading-edge research from the U.S. Department of Energy as well as the European Organization for Nuclear Research (CERN). Using innovative, state-of-the-art audio indexing and speech recognition technology from Microsoft Research, ScienceCinema allows users to search for specific words and phrases spoken within video files. Simply enter a term in the box and start exploring!

Science360
View videos about the latest wonders of science, engineering, technology and math. Videos provided by scientists, colleges and universities, science and engineering centers, the National Science Foundation and more.

Scripp’s Library and Multimedia Archive
From the Miller Center for Public Affairs at the University of Virginia, this archive provides a unique collection of material on U.S. public policy including State of the Union addresses, secret White House recordings, presidential oral history interviews and other audio and video recordings pertaining to the executive branch of the U.S. government.

UC Berkeley Online Media
A collection of online video and audio recordings of notable lectures, events and readings held at the University of California, Berkeley.  Includes audio, video and text files pertaining to the University library’s Social Activism Sound Recording Project. 

VitalNY
Video in Teaching and Learning for New York State Educators – you must register (free) to access loads of clips and other educational tools for K-College in a wide range of subjects. Lots of PBS video and lesson planning help.


Streaming Pay-per-view

Amazon Video on Demand
Over 140,000 streaming movies and television shows to rent or buy.

MUBI
A subscription service offering a new film every day of the month.  Subscribers have 30 days to watch a film and there are always 30 films available to watch.  The website states “it's like your own never-ending film festival, constantly refreshed and personally curated.”

New Day Digital
Streaming pay-per-view, New Day Films is a unique distribution cooperative run by the filmmakers themselves. Specializing in social-issue documentaries, New Day Films have for decades been frequently seen on such television venues as HBO and POV. The collection includes Academy Award-winners and nominees, Emmy award-winners and nominees, plus winning entries from film festivals around the world.

YouTube -- TV and Movies
Streaming pay-per-view and subscription access to movies and television programs. 


News and Current Events

Newslook
Provides direct access to video news stories selected from the web by journalists and documentarians.

C-SPAN Video Library
Contains all C-SPAN programs since 1987, indexed, abstracted, and catalogued by the C-SPAN archives staff.

NBC Learn
NBC Learn is the educational arm of NBC News dedicated to providing resources for students, teachers and lifelong learners.

Vanderbilt Television News Archive
The world's most extensive and complete archive of television news. The archive has been collecting recordings, preserving records and providing access to television news broadcasts of the national networks since August 5, 1968.

Mike Wallace Interviews
In 1957, The Mike Wallace Interview was a nationally televised prime-time program.  Known for being well prepared with extensive research, Wallace asked probing questions of guests framed in tight close-ups. The result was a series of compelling and revealing interviews with some of the most interesting and important people of the day.


Continuing Education

TED Talks
TED is a nonprofit devoted to Ideas Worth Spreading. It started out (in 1984) as a conference bringing together people from three worlds: Technology, Entertainment, Design. Since then its scope has become ever broader. The site includes the award-winning TED Talks video series comprised of over 1,400 talks. 

Hippocampus
A project of the Monterey Institute for Technology and Education, Hippocampus provides high-quality, multimedia content on general education subjects to high school and college students.

Annenberg Learner
Uses media and telecommunications to advance excellent teaching in American schools by providing access to exceptional educational video programs developed as telecourses. 

Learners TV
Provides free streaming and downloadable video and audio lectures of whole courses taught by university faculty from around the world. 

Khan Academy
Khan Academy is a not-for-profit with the goal of changing education for the better by providing a free world-class education for anyone anywhere.  All of the site's materials and resources are available completely free of charge.

MIT OpenCourseWare
Makes the materials used in the teaching of almost all of MIT's subjects available on the Web, free of charge.  More than 2,000 courses available.

Open Yale Courses
Provides free and open access to a selection of introductory courses taught by distinguished teachers and scholars at Yale University. The aim of the project is to expand access to educational materials for all who wish to learn.

YouTube Education
Brings learners and educators together in a global video classroom. Allows access to a broad set of educational videos that range from academic lectures to inspirational speeches and everything in between.  Includes quick lessons from top teachers around the world, course lectures from top-tier universities, or inspiring videos.