Skip to Content
ublogo print

University at Buffalo Libraries

Classic Catalog Help



Annex

The Library Annex is located off campus and houses low volume materials. If the item you need is listed as in the Libraries Annex, go to Delivery+ to request it. Often the item is delivered to campus or your email box within one business day.


Barcode

If you have the barcode and need to locate item information, use Expert search. Use the format: bar =39072029733452.


Basic Search offers a variety of search and browse choices from the pull-down menus. All keyword searches can use Boolean operators.

SearchExamplesNotes
Keywords “peace bridge” history Looks for the phrase “peace bridge” and the word history in any field in any order.
Title begins with... tale of two cities Searches an alphabetical list of all titles and variant titles beginning with the words entered.
Title Keywords work genius Searches for the words anywhere in the title or variant fields, regardless of the order in which they appear.
Author
(last name first)

blake william


american sociological society

Searches an alphabetical list of authors (personal and corporate).
Author Keywords

william blake


socio* society

Searches for the name anywhere in the author fields, regardless of order.
Call Number
begins with...
hf5383
kf261
qa76
Searches the call number index. For additional tips, see Call Number Search.
Subject
begins with...


urban renewal

Searches an alphabetical list of the subject headings beginning with the words entered.
Subject Keywords buffalo university
“plastics recycling”
Searches for the words or phrase you enter anywhere in the subject fields.
MeSH Keywords cerebrovascular accident
“delivery of health care”
Searches for the words or phrase anywhere in the Medical Subject Headings (MeSH).

Basket

If you want to save your search records for later use, you can store them in your library Basket. In order to save these records, you must be logged in to My Account. Items added to the Basket when you are not logged in to My Account, will disappear when your session ends. Your session will automatically end if it is inactive for 20 minutes.

To view records in the Basket, click Basket from the top menu bar.

If you want to save your search records for later use, you can store them in your library Basket. In order to save these records, you must be logged in to My Library Card. Items added to the Basket when you are not logged in to My Library Card, will disappear when your session ends. Your session will automatically end if it is inactive for 20 minutes.

To view records in the Basket, click Basket from the top menu bar.


Blocks

If there is a block on your account, you will not be able to renew or check out books. Your account may be blocked for a number of reasons, including non-return of books, failure to return recalled items, non-payment of fines, address correction needed or not currently enrolled. You can see if you have a block when you log in to My Library Card. For more information, contact a circulation desk.


The Boolean operators AND, OR, and NOT can be used to combine words or phrases in keyword searches.  Note:

  • The system assumes that all words are combined with AND if no operator is present and if you do not enclose any part of the search in parentheses.
  • Use parentheses to group terms logically:
    (rodgers or hammerstein) and musical 
    (spine or spinal) and (stenosis or arthritis)

Do a Browse search from Advanced Search. The Browse function enables you to search the catalog in alphabetical order like a dictionary. This type of search is most useful for a “known item,” such as a title or author name.

NOTE:

  • The Subject browse should be chosen only if the exact Library of Congress or the Medical Subject Heading is known.
  • In a Call Number browse search it is important to click on the title to find the Library Location of the item

Call number searches work best in Browse an Alphabetical List. Select the type of call number from the drop-down menu and enter either the whole call number, or the first letters and numbers. You must leave spaces between combinations of letters and numbers. A period is treated as a space. Examples: QA76 .B4, hf5383 b466

Searching for a SuDoc or other government document by call number can only be done when selecting Call Nos.(Govt. Doc.) from the drop-down menu.

Note: Call Number searches can be imprecise.

You can also use Expert search to locate items by call numbers.


Combine Results

To combine the results of previous searches, click on Recent Searches. Choose which previous searches you want to combine and click on Combine. Select the way in which you want the searches combined, and then click GO.

See Also Modify


Conferences

To limit your search to conference publications in the UB Libraries, select Conference in the Format drop-down menu on the Advanced Keyword Search screen. Conference titles are rarely standard, so it is best to combine terms regarding the organization and the name of the conference together in a keyword search; for example, IEEE and automation.


E-mail Results

To Email records:

  • Select each record that you wish to save or email
  • Click on the Save/Mail option
  • Complete the form that displays, filling in the email address line
  • Click Go

Error

If you have searched the Classic Catalog and you have noticed what you think is: a spelling error, an incorrect call number, a library location error, or other type of inaccuracy, please use the the Classic Catalog Problem form to report the error.


The Expert search in the Classic Catalog uses CCL (Common Command Language) phrases to allow maximum control over searching. To use CCL, type a three-letter code with an equal sign and then your search term (wga=georgia) in the search box. Consult the abbreviations and full list of codes used in CCL here.


Format

The Classic Catalog allows you to to limit your search to a specific format (book, video, serial, map etc.). You can select format in Advanced Keyword searches or go to Modify Search when viewing search results.


In Storage

If the item you need is listed as In Storage and you want the Libraries staff to make the items available for you, go to the form to request it.


ISSN and ISBN number searching are available in Advanced Search or from the Browse an Alphabetical List. Select the appropriate term (ISSN or ISBN) from the drop-down menu. For an ISSN search, enter all eight digits including the hyphen.
For an ISBN search, you should enter either all ten or thirteen digits with no hyphens. 


Journals

The Journals tab allows you to limit your search to journal or serial titles, including newspapers. To determine what we own in a journal title, use the information in Summary Holdings PLUS see the list of individual items when you click on Check Availability. To determine what we own in a microfilm newspaper collection, use the information in Summary Holdings.


Kelley Collection

The George Kelley Paperback and Pulp Fiction Collection  is housed in the Special Collections Research Room in 420 Capen Hall (inside the Silverman Library). The Collection is open for research but must be used in house.


Language, Search by

To limit to a particular language, click Advanced and use the pull-down menu to choose a language. Not all available languages are listed. To find items in languages not listed, try the following:

  • Select Expert on the search page and create a command language search using WLN= xxx where xxx is the language code (usually the first three letters of the language name. Consult the list of language codes.

e.g., wln=est and drama will find plays written in Estonian.


My Account

My Account enables you to view and renew items on loan, view fines and blocks, view status of Delivery+ requests.

Courtesy Borrowers log in by entering their Library User Name printed on the front of their blue card in lieu of the UBIT name.


You can generate permalinks (stable, persistent URLs that will always link directly to the resource you’re seeking) in Classic Catalog.

To create a permalink to a single record in the Classic Catalog:

  • Click Permalink from the menu options beneath the catalog tabs while viewing the item you want.
  • The URL displayed now is the permalink.
  • Simply copy it from your browser.

To create a permalink to a group of records in the Classic Catalog (i.e.: to replicate your the Classic Catalog search):

  • Perform a search in the Classic Catalog.
  • On any results page (but not in individual record view), copy the URL from your browser’s navigation toolbar and paste it into your desired program. Now you will need to delete the cookie from the URL to make it a permalink.
  • The cookie is the portion of the URL that falls between http://bison.buffalo.edu:8991/F/ and ?func Delete all of the characters between /F/ and ?func and the resulting URL is a permalink to your search. (Note: do not delete the characters which come after ?func - they contain your search specifics, not the cookie.)

Phrase

To search for words as a phrase, enclose the words in double quotation marks. (e.g., “plastics recycling”). In Advanced search, check the radial button marked Phrases.


Printing Results

To print a single item record: use the Print function of your browser.

To print a list of records including the call numbers:

  • Select all the records you wish to save for printing
  • Click on the Save/Mail option
  • Leave the email address line blank
  • Click Go
  • Click Save on the next page
    • Select to either Save or Open the file and print from the resulting document.

Note: Trying to print from the Results List will often not print the call numbers


Proximity Search

In keyword searches, the % and ! symbols may be used to specify proximity.

! ballads !3 england finds Ballads of England and Ballads of Merry Olde England, but not England and Her Ballads Indicates the maximum number of words to appear between the terms entered. First word first.
%
between
two words
england %3 ballads finds Ballads of England, Ballands of Merry Olde England and England and Her Ballads Indicates the maximum number of words to appear between the terms entered. Either word first.

Punctuation

Most punctuation marks may be entered or ignored. If you get unexpected results, try the search again, adding or deleting the punctuation mark.

Cutting and pasting text into a search box will be problematic if the text you paste includes any punctuation or diacritical marks (accent marks).  If punctuation or diacritical marks are needed, you will get better results by typing the text directly into the search box using your keyboard


Recent Searches

Recent Searches allows you to view the results of previous searches, incorporate them into new searches or combine them into one result set.


Renew

Use My Library Card to renew your items online. Also see Renewing Library Material.


Reserves Tab

Search for materials which have been put on Course Reserve. You can search by course number (with no spaces) or by instructor name.


Save Results

To Save records:

  • Select each record you wish to save or email
  • Click on the Save/Mail option
  • Complete the form that displays, leaving email address line blank if you want to save the file to your computer or enter an email address if you want to email it.

Special Collections

Items in Special Collections (University Archives, Rare Books, The Poetry Collection) are non circulating. See Requesting Materials from Special Collections.


Stop Words

In Keyword searches, the words AND, OR, NOT are stop words. The system will not search on a stop word in a keyword search unless it is entered in quotes. Example: to do a keyword search for and a voice to sing with, enter your search as “and” a voice to sing with.

Note: in a Browse (…begins with) search, these words may be used. Example: a Title begins with search on Or forfeit freedom gives the correct results.


Summary Holdings

This line will indicate which journals and newspapers we own.

If you are looking at a record for a journal, Summary Holdings will indicate bound volumes. Current and non-bound issues will be listed under All Holdings (Check Availabilty).

If you are looking at a record for a newspaper, trust the Summary Holdings to indicate which years we own in microform. Individual issues of currently-received newspapers are not reflected in the catalog.


UB Dissertations and Theses can be searched in the catalog by author or by title. To search by call number or department, see Dissertations and Theses: Guide to Research.


Truncation and Wildcards

Truncation is a symbol put at the beginning or end of a word stem in order to catch all variations of that word when searching. Two symbols can be used for truncation: ? and * .

Wildcards are used when searching for words with spelling variations, or if you are unsure of the correct spelling. The # (pound sign) is used to symbolize either one or zero missing letters. The ! (exclamation point) is used to symbolize exactly one missing letter.

Truncation and Wildcards can only be used in Keyword and Advanced searching. They will not work with Browse List searching.

SymbolExamplesNotes
? or *
at the beginning, end, or within a word
comput? finds compute, computer, computers,
computerization, computerized, etc.

*ology finds archaeology, numerology, paleontology, psychology, etc.
Finds all the words beginning or ending with the stem. Acts as a placeholder for one or more characters within a word. Use only once in a search.
# within a word arch#eology finds archaeology or archeology

colo#r finds color or colour
Placeholder for one or no character.
! within a word wom!n finds woman, women, womyn Placeholder for exactly one character.