2013 Tax Quick Guide
Looking for tax forms and hints? This brief guide provides selected links to federal and state forms, and tips offered by tax professionals. Consult Taxes at http://libweb.lib.buffalo.edu/guide/guide.asp?ID=34 for more detail.
The following documentation is usually required when completing taxes:
- Social Security number.
- Date of birth for you, spouse and dependents.
- Wage and earning statement(s), Forms W-2 and 1099, from all employers.
- Interest and dividend statements from banks (Forms 1099).
- A copy of last year's federal and state tax returns if available.
- Bank routing numbers and account numbers for direct deposit.
Those purchasing services from tax professionals should be aware of the Consumer Bill of Rights Regarding Tax Preparers (http://www.tax.ny.gov/tp/cbr/default.htm).
Forms and Publications (U.S. Internal Revenue Service)
Links to current and historical federal tax forms and background documentation.
New York State Tax Forms (New York State. Department of Taxation and Finance)
Provides information for individual and business taxes, plus links for tax professionals and the media.
State Tax Department Websites (Drake Software)
Links to tax Web sites of all 50 states.
Tax Tips (See the disclaimer above)
Federal Tax Guide (Drake Software)
Covers filing basics, income, withholding, dependents, tax credits, deductions, refunds, tax payments, IRS tax calendar, and tax tips. This site also includes online calculators, a tax estimator, and fee-based online tax services.
H & R Block
- Tax Preparation Checklist: What You’ll Need to File
A tax preparation checklist for individuals covers:
Other people who may belong on your return
Savings and Investments
Deductions and Credits
Information If you were affected by a federally declared disaster
- Small Business Tax Prep Checklist: What You'll Need to File
Quoted from Web site:
“Running your own business doesn't mean you have to do everything. Our business advisors will provide a free comprehensive review and assessment of key tax topics related to running your business. There is no cost, no commitment and no obligation. The consultation will cover:
- Tax deductions and credits for your business.
- Income and expense record keeping guidance.
- General tax guidance for employees and contractors.
- Project and plan for quarterly and year-end taxes.”
- Tax Tips and Calculators
Includes a 2012 tax estimator, a form that asks tax questions, tax articles, a tax blog, and the latest tax advice.
Tax Credit Reporting Service for Students (Affiliated Computer Services, Inc.)
Intended to help students determine their eligibility for the Hope Scholarship and Lifetime Learning tax credits.
Tax Information For Individuals (U.S. Internal Revenue Service)
Tax Tools (Drake Enterprises)
Includes a tax estimator, tax calculators, and related publications, forms, and worksheets.
TaxAct.com (Story Software, Inc.)
Download free software for completing basic federal tax forms, and purchase software for completing more complicated federal returns and state forms. The Tax Info tab links to resources about tax planning and related checklists, tax tools and calculators, tax law changes, IRS and state government resources, mobile apps, articles, and a blog.
Your Federal Income Tax For Individuals, Tax Guide 2011. Publication 17 (U.S. Internal Revenue Service)
A comprehensive guide that covers all aspects of federal income taxes.
2014 Free Tax Preparation (State University at Buffalo. School of Management)
Individuals and families with annual incomes less that $51,000 receive assistance from IRS-certified School of Management students.
AARP Foundation Tax-Aide Locator
Enter your zip code to locate places that offer tax services to the elderly and to those with limited incomes. This directory is one of the most comprehensive available.
CASH Coalition of Buffalo
In collaboration with the United Way of Buffalo and Erie County, CASH offers free tax assistance to qualified individuals. Call 888-696-9211 or 2-1-1 for appointments or use the http://myfreetaxes.com/cashbuffalo link.
International Student and Scholar Services (University at Buffalo)
Provides basic Webcasts and other basic information international students need to complete their federal and state taxes. Call 716-645-2258 if you have questions.
Provides a 3-step guide to completing federal taxes, and links to articles about free tax services.
Volunteer Income Tax Assistance (VITA) andTax Counseling for the Elderly (TCE) Programs (U.S. Internal Revenue Service)
A directory to IRS certified volunteers who provide free tax services for qualified individuals. VITA helps those earning less than $52,000. TCE assists everyone, but offers priority to those over 60 years old. VITA/TCE uses the AARP directory cited above to refer you for tax services.