- Census 2000 Questionnaires
- 2000 Census Data
- Census Geography and Maps
- Special Census Topics
- Reference Materials and Indexes to Articles
Census 2000 Questionnaires
The Census of Population and Housing includes data collected on two forms, the short form and the long form.
Short Form: All respondents answer questions on the short form. Data compiled from the short forms are published in Summary Files 1 and 2 (SF 1 and SF 2). SF 2 is a much more detailed representation of the data. View the short form at http://www.census.gov/dmd/www/pdf/d61a.pdf . Topics covered include:
Short Form Topics-Summary Files 1 and 2
|Sex||Tenure (home owner or renter)|
|Hispanic or Latino origin||Vacancy characteristics|
Long Form: Sixteen percent of households receive the long form. Data published on this form are available in Summary Files 3 and 4 (SF 3 and SF 4). SF 4 is a much more detailed representation of the data. View the long form at http://www.census.gov/dmd/www/pdf/d-61b.pdf . It includes all the questions on the short form, plus the following variables that cover more detailed socioeconomic circumstances.
Long Form Topics-Summary Files 3 and 4
|Disability||Number of rooms, number of bedrooms|
|Farm residence||Plumbing and kitchen facilities|
|Grandparents as caregivers||Telephone service|
|Income in 1999||Units in structure|
|Occupation, industry, class of worker||Utilities, mortgage, taxes, insurance, fuel costs|
|Labor force status||Value of home or monthly rent paid|
|Language spoken at home||Vehicles available|
|Marital status||Year moved into residence|
|Migration (residence in 1995)||Year structure built|
|Place of birth, citizenship, year of entry into U.S.|
|Place of work, journey to work|
|School enrollment and educational attainment|
See Uses for Questions on the Census 2000 Forms ( http://www.census.gov/dmd/www/content.htm ) for background information about the importance of each census question.
2000 Census Data
American FactFinder (U.S. Census Bureau)
The American FactFinder database, version 2, includes the following 2000 Census files:
- SF1 100% Data
- SF2 100% Data
- SF3 Sample Data
- SF4 Sample Data
- Redistricting Data SF
- 110th Congress Sample Data
- 110th Congress 100% Data
- State Legislative Districts Sample Data
- State Legislative Districts 100% Data
- Count Question Resolution
- American Indian and Alaska Native SF
- America Samoa SF
- Guam SF
- Northern Mariana Islands SF
- U.S. Virgin Islands SF
Census 2000 DVDs/CD-ROMs
Capen Multimedia Center (Call numbers vary depending upon disks.)
Experienced data users and others who must download large amounts of information are the intended audiences. Click here for a tutorial based upon the SF 1 DVD. American FactFinder described immediately above is probably a better choice for novice data users.The chart below summarizes other differences between the Census 2000 DVDs/CD-ROMs and FactFinder.
|DVD/CD-ROM (Allocate Software)||American FactFinder|
|Data release is often delayed.||Data are released much quicker than the DVD/CD-ROM products.|
|Once you are familiar with the software, most data are just a click away. Changing geographies and subject variables is far easier than with FactFinder.||Users can change geographies and subject variables, but this process is far more cumbersome than with the DVD/CD-ROM products.|
|Users have many options for selecting subject variables. That is, when compiling information about race, one can extract statistics for the White population.||Options for selecting subject variables are more limited than with the DVD/CD-ROM. For example, when compiling information about race, one cannot extract statistics for the White population. Users must include data for all races.|
|Download data in comma delimited; Access; dBASE III, IV, or V; Paradox; FoxPro; Excel; or html formats.||Download data in comma delimited; tab delimited; comma delimited zipped; and rich text formats.|
|The Radii feature lets users view data within the specified radius of a given point.||FactFinder does not have a comparable feature.|
Census Data (US Department of Housing)
Download very detailed zipped DBF files that outline geographic definitions, and population and housing characteristics from Summary File 1 (SF 1) for all 50 states.
Demographic Profile Products (Missouri Census Data Center)
Although emphasis is upon Missouri, site administrators still provide data for the entire nation. The following links are especially useful.
- Demographic Profile 3 Trend Reports Using Data From SF3, 1990 & 2000
Provides selected data comparing 1990 and 2000 statistics for the nation; regions and divisions; states; counties; metropolitan areas; places of at least 10,000 population; and zip codes.
- Population Profiles Using Data From SF3 National File -- Entire U.S.
Provides summarized demographic and socioeconomic data from the 2000 census for the nation; regions and divisions; states; counties; minor civil divisions (in New York State--towns and cities within counties); metropolitan areas; urban areas; places; and zip codes.
- State Data Center Demographic Profiles Based on Data in Summary File 3, 2000 US Census
Access more detailed socioeconomic statistics from the 2000 census for the U.S.; regions and divisions; states and Puerto Rico; metropolitan areas; and places of at least 50,000 population.
New York State Data Center
Four links provide data for:
- Summary 100% Data Profiles - Basic Demographic Data
- Summary Sample Data Profiles - Social, Economic and Housing Data
- Demographic Profiles (DP1)
- Demographic Profiles (DP2, DP3, DP4)
Street Address (U.S. Census Bureau)
Retrieve demographic data or a view a map of an area by selecting places from a list; searching by names; or entering an address.
Summary Data Profiles
Provides statistics for the nation, states, county subdivisions, and places. Topics cover data by sex and age; race, Hispanic origin and ancestry; households by type; educational enrollment and attainment; marital status; languages spoken at home; employment, income, occupations, and poverty; and housing characteristics, rent and mortgage status, and value of housing.
Census Geography and Maps
Click here for a guide to census geography and maps.
Special Census Topics
Census Transportation Planning Package (CTPP) 2000 (U.S. Department of Transportation. Research and Innovative Technology Administration (RITA))
Presents detailed tables describing how people travel to work and the daytime characteristics of work places. Data covers the nation, states, and selected metropolitan areas.
Journey to Work: 2000, Census 2000 Brief (U.S. Census Bureau) http://www.census.gov/prod/2004pubs/c2kbr-33.pdf
Provides a national summary and reproduces related parts of the 2000 Census form.
The Office of Management and Budget mandated that the Census Bureau collect 2000 census data for race and Hispanic origin differently from previous censuses. Race statistics for 2000 are not directly comparable to those of earlier censuses. The following references summarize the differences.
- History: Race in the U.S.A. (American Anthropological Association)
Does not deal exclusively with the Census, but provides background about race throughout American history.
- Overview of Race and Hispanic Origin: Census 2000 Brief (U.S. Census Bureau)
- Racial and Ethnic Classifications Used in Census 2000 and Beyond (U.S. Census Bureau)
Census 2000 School District Demographics Data Files (US Department of Education. National Center for Educational Statistics)
The National Center for Educational Statistics contracted with the Census Bureau to reconfigure the 2000 Census by school district boundaries.
Reference Materials and Indexes to Articles
Fact Sheets (U.S. Census Bureau)
These 2 page brochures summarize data about the census.
Frequently Asked Questions (U.S. Census Bureau)
Questions and answers address 5 topics: Census 2000 data; conducting a census; participation in the census; census questionnaires; and Census Bureau activities between the decennial censuses.
Glossary of Census Terms (U.S. Census Bureau)
A comprehensive guide to terms used in the Census of Population and Housing.
How the People Use the Census (U.S. Census Bureau)
Describes how people use data from the decennial census.
Population Reference Bureau (PRB)
PRB is a private group that provides population and related analysis of US and international populations. Emphasis is upon reports and other textual information about demography. Special focus areas cover the environment; HIV; population trends; and reproductive health. Additional topics deal with education; employment; family planning; fertility; gender; health; immunization; income and poverty; marriage and family; migration; mortality; older population; race and ethnicity; urbanization; and youth.
Population Research Institute (Pennsylvania State University)
Links connect to population and demographic sources throughout the world. Topics cover US federal data; data sets on the Web; international, intergovernmental, and nongovernmental organizations; professional associations; international data sources; and data about related fields.
[Publications] (U.S. Census Bureau)
Links to publications issued as part of the 2000 Census of Population and Housing.
Your Gateway to Census 2000 (U.S. Census Bureau)
The Census Bureau created this Web site to be a portal to Census 2000 data. Links lead to American FactFinder; State and County Quick Facts; state highlights; summarized Census 2000 data for states, counties, and county subdivisions. Consult American FactFinder for more detailed statistics. Additional information include Census Briefs that analyze selected national statistics; special reports; and selected historical data. Other options cover press releases; a directory of census products; notes and errata; Census 2000 questionnaires; census programs in the schools; PowerPoint tutorials, and contacts for further information.
The link to Teaching Materials ( http://www.census.gov/dmd/www/schmat1.html ) that includes lesson plans and exercises is particularly valuable to educators. Selected exercises are also appropriate for adults.
Popline (Johns Hopkins University. Bloomberg of Public Health Center for Communication Programs)
Hopkins claims that this is the largest database covering reproductive health topics, such as population; family planning; and related issues. The system indexes nearly 300,000 books and chapters; journal articles; conference papers; newspaper articles; dissertations; unpublished reports; bills and laws; and training manuals.
Population Index (Princeton University)
Indexes and abstracts over 46,000 journal articles; books; papers; and other research materials about demography published between 1986 and 2000. Lockwood Library's print collection of Population Index covers 1964-1996. (Per Z7164.D3 P83)