- U.S. Tax Forms
- State Tax Forms
- Foreign Governments
- Research Meta-Sites
- U.S. Tax Laws and Regulations
- Tax Preparation and Tax Tips
- Rights of Taxpayers in New York State
- New York State Tax Savings Plans
See http://libweb.lib.buffalo.edu/guide/guide.asp?ID=398 for guide to 2012 taxes. It covers federal and state forms, and suggests resources that offer tax tips. The Tax Clinics section includes directories to free tax preparation services both on and off campus. It will remain posted through tax season.
This guide provides links to tax forms and instructions, plus other related data about taxation.
NOTE: Reference librarians lack training as tax professionals and cannot answer tax-related questions. Use the links on this Web site and the tax materials available in the library at your own risk. For assistance with preparation of tax returns, please consult a qualified professional.
U.S. Tax Forms
Internal Revenue Service
The Internal Revenue Service divides its Web site into the following areas. This page includes a link to Free File, the free tax perparation and e-filing service.
- Tax Information For Individuals
- Tax Information for Businesses
- Tax Information for Charities & Other Non-Profits
- Tax Info for Government Entities
- Tax Info for Tax Professionals
- Forms and Publications
- Frequently Asked Tax Questions And Answers
- Taxpayer Advocate Service
Select the Federal option to retrieve forms, instructions, and publications from 1991-present.
State Tax Forms
New York State Tax Forms
The New York State Department of Taxation and Finance provides PDF versions of forms and instructions for all types of taxes, including income, sales, corporate, and gift taxes.
Select the State option to retrieve selected forms from 2000-present.
Tax and Accounting Sites Directory: International Tax
Links to country specific tax sites that cover government agencies and other resources; international tax associations; the Internal Revenue Service; the European Union; tax treaties; and sources for students and faculty.
Yahoo! Tax Center
Tax forms, tips, and links to a variety of tax related web sites. Selected featured links cover tax calculators, a glossary, a tax preparation checklist, tax news, and a directory to accountants.
Links to dozens of sites dealing with U.S., state, and international taxation. Includes tax law, professional organizations, employment opportunities, academic resources, and a directory of schools which offer accounting programs.
U.S. Tax Laws and Regulations
United States Code
The U.S. House of Representatives' searchable text of the U.S. Code , including the Internal Revenue Code (Title 26).
U.S. Tax Code Online
Programmer John Walker has created an enhanced version of the Tax Code, searchable by table of contents, section number, or keyword. Users should exercise caution in using this site, as it may not reflect the latest version of the Code.
Code of Federal Regulations
The Code of Federal Regulations reproduces federal regulations, including those of the Internal Revenue Service.
Searchable databases of IRS Revenue Rulings and IRS Revenue Procedures, from 1954 to the present.
Tax Preparation and Tax Tips
Electronic Services from the IRS
Tips for electronic filing and other services.
Tax Credit Reporting Service (TCRS) Student/Taxpayer (AFSA Data Corporation)
Intended to help students determine their eligibility for the Hope Scholarship and the Lifetime Learning tax credits.
Free software for completing federal tax forms. The site also offers a fee-based service for filing returns electronically, and sells software for completing state tax returns.
Rights of Taxpayers in New York State
Office of the New York State Taxpayer Rights Advocate (New York State. Department of Taxation and Finance)
Your Rights as a Taxpayer (New York State. Department of Taxation and Finance)
Provides links to several relevant publications:
- Publication 38, Your Rights as a Taxpayer
- Publication 131, Your Rights and Obligations Under The Tax Law
- Publication 135, Consumer Bill of Rights
- Desk Audit - Publication 130-D, The New York State Tax Audit – Your Rights & Responsibilities
- Field Audit - Publication 130-F, The New York State Tax Audit – Your Rights & Responsibilities
- TSB-M-97(10)C, (5)I, (9)M, (3)R, (13)S, Taxpayer Bill of Rights Act of 1997
- TSB-M-93(2)C, (2)I, (2)M, (2)R, (2)S, Chapter 770 of the Law of 1992 (Taxpayers' Bill of Rights)
New York State Tax Savings Plans
New York's 529 College Savings Program
A "Frequently Asked Questions" area ( https://www.nysaves.com/content/faqs.html ) explains this tax-free program which is designed to promote savings towards higher education costs.
School Tax Relief (STAR) Program (New York State. Department of Taxation and Finance)
Provides qualifying homeowners a partial exemption from school taxes.