Census - Demography
Selected Handbooks and Encyclopedias
Congressional Quarterly's Encyclopedia of the U.S. Census(CQ Press)
Lockwood Reference HA37 .U55 C66 2000
Lockwood HA37 .U55 C66 2000
The most comprehensive book of its type. Both novices and experts will benefit from the well written articles.
- Dictionary of Demography(Blackwell Reference)
Lockwood Reference HB849.2 .P7413 1985
- Dictionary of Demography. Multilingual Glossary (Greenwood Press)
Lockwood Book Collection HB849.2 .P468 1985
- Dictionary of Demography: Terms, Concepts, and Institutions (Greenwood Press)
Lockwood Reference HB849.2 .P47 1986
Demography: Analysis and Synthesis (Elsevier)
Lockwood Reference HB871 .C37513 2006
A 4 volume compilation of essays covering all aspects of demography. Novices and the statistically unsophisticated may have difficulty getting through this.
Encyclopedia of Population (Macmillan Reference USA)
Lockwood Reference HB871 .E538 2003
A comprehensive source that attempts to satisfy needs of a wide audience from undergraduates through experts.
Guide to Latin American and Caribbean Census Material: A Bibliography and Union List (University of London. Institute of Latin American Studies)
Lockwood Reference HA755 .G85 1990
Cites all censuses of Latin American nations from the beginnings through 1979 held in over 30 British libraries. References cover population, housing, agriculture, and local counts. Compilers exclude statistical compendia and compilations.
International Encyclopedia of Population (Columbia University. College of Physicians and Surgeons. Center for Population and Family Health)
Lockwood Reference HB849.2 .I55
Includes signed articles that attempt to interrelate demographic concepts and related concepts in the social sciences. The Topical Outline in volume 2 provides a good overview of demography. Most articles are appropriate for novices.
Methods and Materials of Demography(Elsevier/Academic Press)
Lockwood Reference HB849.4 .M484 2004
Intended as a framework for a year long introductory course in demography for those with limited math skills. Coverage includes a wide range of topics, including population growth; migration; race and ethnicity; and fertility and mortality.
Subject Index to the 1980 Census of Population and Housing
Lockwood Reference HA 201 .F3 1980
The most comprehensive index to the 1980 Census.
Subject Index to the 1990 Census of Population and Housing (Epoch Books)
Lockwood HA201 1990 L385 (stacks and Reference)
Arch/Plan Reference HA201 1990 .F3 1997
Part 1 covers the Table Finding Guides in the printed volumes, and part 2 covers Summary Tape File (STF 1) and STF 3 CD-ROMS.
Understanding the Census: A Guide for Marketers, Planners, Grant Writers, and Other Data Users (Epoch Books)
Lockwood Reference HA201 1990 L38
Lockwood HA201 1990 L38
Arch/Plan Reference HA37 .U55 L38 1996
Though written for the 1990 Census of Population and Housing, the ideas and concepts described still apply to other censuses. The author, Michael Lavin, is a UB librarian.