Census - Quick Links
The following resources offer quick, ready-reference sources that summarize current census data for the nation, states, counties, and local areas.
American FactFinder (U.S. Census Bureau)
The Census Bureau intended American FactFinder to be the primary distribution tool for the 2000 Census. It has since become the main dissemination tool for the 2010 Census as well, plus other demographic and economic surveys.
The Census Bureau home page presents a wide variety of quick reference statistics.
- QuickFacts offers data about people, housing, and businesses for states and local areas.
- Interactive Map enables users to compare areas.
- Population Finder provides 2010 census data summarized for the nation, states, and local areas.
- The Subjects A to Z tab links to information about hundreds of topics covered by the Census Bureau and other statistical agencies.
The FAQs tab lists dozens of FAQs about a large variety of demographic and economic census topics.
Complete Economic and Demographic Data Source (CEDDS) (Woods and Pool Economics, Inc.) Lockwood Reference HC101 .C616 2004
Provides historical overviews and 25 year projections for population; age; race; hispanic origin; employment and earnings by industry; household and per capita income; and retail sales. Data cover the nation, states, metropolitan areas, and counties. See also Cornell's Program on Applied Demographics for population projections.
County and City Data Book (U.S. Census Bureau)
http://www2.lib.virginia.edu/ccdb/ (1944-2000 through the University of Virginia)
Lockwood Documents US C 3.134/ 2: C 83/ 2 (1952-2007)
Capen Multimedia Center US CD-ROM 198: C 3.134/ 2-1: (1994-2007)
Presents data for states, counties, and cities of at least 25,000 population. Topics cover population; race; household characteristics; births and deaths; education; labor and income; manufacturing; farming; wholesale and retail trades; and government programs and finances. The Census Bureau discontiniued the County and City Data Book with the 2007 edition.
Consult the following for related information:
- County and City Extra (Gaquin, Deidre A. and Katherine De Brandt. Lanham:MD., 2002)
Lockwood Reference HA 203 C68 2002
- State & County QuickFacts
- USA Counties
Demographics USA: County Edition (Market Statistics)
Lockwood HF 5415.3 S87 (1993-2008; most recent in Reference)
Separate chapters cover population; race and hispanic population; households; age; income; retail sales; and "effective purchasing power." Marketing and sales communities are the intended audiences.
MapStats: United States (Federal Interagency Council on Statistical Policy) http://www.fedstats.gov/qf/
Retrieve data for the nation, states, federal judicial districts, Congressional districts, counties, and cities. Data measure population; race; education; household characteristics; income; poverty; employment; businesses; manufacturing; retail sales; and construction.
New York State Statistics (Nelson A. Rockefeller Institute of Government) http://www.rockinst.org/nys_statistics/ (2002+)
Lockwood Reference Desk HA 541 A27 (current edition)
Lockwood Reference HA 541 A27 (1967-previous edition)
Lockwood Documents NY BUD 955-3 NEWYS (1968-current edition)
Presents a wide range of demographic topics and government information. Most data are at the county level; selected tables have information for cities, towns, and villages. The printed version is entitled New York State Statistical Yearbook.
PAD (Program on Applied Demographics) (Cornell University. College of Human Ecology) http://pad.human.cornell.edu/index.cfm
Access View New York State census data, American Community Survey statistics, school district populations, population projections, and trends by age and sex. Good projections are difficult to find. See also Complete Economic and Demographic Data Source.
Publications (U.S. Census Bureau)
Links to Census Bureau publication series that cover:
- Business - Trade and Services
- Census of Population and Housing
- Construction and Housing
- Economic Census
- Foreign Trade
- General and Reference
- Manufacturing & Mineral Industries
- Statistical Abstracts
- Technical Documentation & Working Papers
Search the Libraries' Catalog for print and online copies of many titles or browse the Lockwood Governments Documents collection at US C 3.186:.
Selected Statistical Sources : Portals, General Sources, and Indexes-State and Local Statistics (University at Buffalo. Arts and Sciences Libraries)
Describes key sources selected by UB librarians.
Sourcebook of ZIP Code DemographicsSourcebook of ZIP Code Demographics (Title varies) (C.A.C.I.)
Lockwood HA 203 .S66 (1990+2007 with gaps; most recent in Reference)
Covers age distribution; race; population growth; households; and "purchasing potential indexes".
State & County QuickFacts (U.S. Census Bureau)
Reproduces data about demographic and housing conditions; income and poverty; health insurance coverage; and business and the economy.
Statistical Abstract of the United States (U.S. Census Bureau) http://www.census.gov/compendia/statab/
Lockwood HA 202 (1894+ with gaps; 1946-2012 with gaps in Reference)
Lockwood Documents US C3.134: (1970-2012 with gaps)
CD-ROM available on Lockwood Reference computer
Capen Multimedia Center MicFiche HA195 .U5 1972 fiche 3095-96 (1878-1945)
The Statistical Abstract is the single most significant reference source that summarizes U.S. statistics. The Web version is comparable to the printed copy. Use the CD-ROM version to access the identical tables, plus enhanced spreadsheet files and links to agency home pages. Budget cuts forced the Census Bureau to discontinue the Statistical Abstract with the 2012 edition.
USA Counties (Census Bureau)
Provides access to over 5,000 data items pertaining to counties.