Skip to Content
ublogo print

University at Buffalo Libraries

Romance Languages & Literature - Selected Resources


Romance Languages and Literatures information is available in a variety of formats--traditional books and periodicals as well as numerous electronic resources. The list below links to many types of information that may be useful for doing modern languages and literatures research.

  


Databases

 

JSTOR presents the full text, in facsimile form, of the complete back files of 510 important scholarly journals, generally lacking only the most recent three years. JSTOR includes about 160 titles in literature and language, and many area studies and multi-disciplinary journals.

Project Muse provides full-text access to over 300 scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences published by The Johns Hopkins University Press and other scholarly publishers, largely in the disciplines of Cultural Studies, History, Literature, Philosophy, Political Science, Religion and Theater.

Directory of Open Access Journals covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. Aims to cover all subjects and languages. There are now 3303 journals in the directory. Currently 1076 journals are searchable at article level. As of today 175523 articles are included in the DOAJ service.

Contemporary Authors. A source of full-text information on more than 100,000 current writers of all types. Includes biographical information as well as a comprehensive, chronological list of works. A list of books and periodicals in which additional information on an author's life and/or writings appears. Extended Search Mode allows retrieval by nationality via a pull-down menu. Includes only non-English-language authors who have published in the US or have been translated into English.

Ethnic NewsWatch. This product provides full text articles selected from approximately 100 ethnic and minority newspapers and magazines in the US, providing users with a multi-cultural perspective on a full range of topics from the arts to current events.

French Literature. A UB Libraries guide.

Spanish and Latin American Literature. A UB Libraries guide.

 

Dissertations

 

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses provides title, author, and subject access to virtually every U.S. dissertation; the database also provides access to thousands of Canadian dissertations and U.S. master's theses, and since 1988 selected access to British and European dissertations. Contains leads to citations to over 2 million doctoral dissertations and master's theses from more than 1,000 North American and European graduate schools. Abstracts to doctoral dissertions from 1980 forward & for master's theses from 1988 forward. 

 

Biographical Information

Literature Resource Center is a complete literature reference database designed for undergraduate students. Much of the information is full-text. Contains electronic version of biographical, bibliographical and contextual information on authors and their works (fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism).

 


Indexes and Abstracts

Preferred

MLA International Bibliography s a venerable and extensive source of literary history and criticism as well as linguistic studies. It indexes books, journal articles and dissertations, and covers literatures in major European languages. Its directory of periodicals provides information on more than 3,000 journals and book series. Publication dates from 1926 to the present.

LLBA: Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts. LML Ref Index Area P1 L5 1967-1994. Includes abstracts and citations to language and linguistic science material from approximately 2,000 periodicals. Also covers monographs, recent books, technical reports, and citations for book reviews. Citations include title of article, author, publisher, journal title and volume/page numbers, year of publication and language that the article was written in. Most citations also include a descriptive abstract.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index. LML Ref Z 5937 A795 (Index Area). Has a Permuterm subject index (rotated title words plus key words) and the Source index. Source index volume can be used to find all recent articles by an author. Titles translated into English.

 


Dictionaries

Larousse dictionaries includes a number of  free dictionaries online.

Bilingual dictionaries can both be found in the stacks (where you can borrow it) or the reference collection by browsing the following call numbers:

  • French - PC 2108-PC 3741
  • Italian - PC 1460-PC 1645
  • Portuguese - PC 5121-PC 5446
  • Spanish - PC 4625-PC 4822

For more information regarding Library of Congress call numbers, consult the guide


 

Websites

WESSWEB  Web pages selected and maintained by the Western European Studies Section of Association of College and Research Libraries. Lists Internet sources for literary texts in the western European languages other than English.

Europeana  A multi-lingual online collection of digitized items from European museums, libraries, archives and multi-media collections.

The European Library offers access to the resources of the 48 national libraries of Europe in 35 languages. Resources can be both digital (books, posters, maps, sound recordings, videos, etc.) and bibliographical . Quality and reliability are guaranteed by the 48 collaborating national libraries of Europe.

 

Literature Resources

Athena Textes Francais

Electronic Text Center at the University of Virginia has an on-line archive of thousands of electronic texts. Includes French and German.

Electronic Text Collections in Western European Literature lists Internet sources for literary texts in the western European languages other than English.

Literary Resources -- Other National Literatures

Voice of the Shuttle offers links to literatures, grouped by language.

Poems

To locate poems in languages other than English on the Web, also see the UB Libraries guide Locating Poems.