Criminal Justice & Law Enforcement
Criminal Justice Information: How to Find It, How to Use It (Oryx Press)
Lockwood Reference HV7419.5 .C75 1998
A guide to information sources including books; articles; statistics; directories; publications by governments, foundations, and professional groups; databases; and Web resources. Coverage includes illustrations from sources under discussion.
Elsevier's Dictionary of Criminal Science, in Eight Languages: English/American, French, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese, Dutch, Swedish, and German (Elsevier Pub. Co.)
Lockwood Reference HV6017 .E4
Encyclopedia of Crime & Justice, 4 volumes (Macmillan Reference USA)
Online (Select Gale Virtual Reference at http://libweb.lib.buffalo.edu/pdp/index.asp?ID=176 and click Law)
Lockwood Reference HV6017 .E52 2002
Capen Libraries Reference HV6017 .E52 2002
Two-hundred and fifty signed essays describe criminal behavior and society’s response to it. Articles include further references.
Encyclopedia of Criminology and Deviant Behavior, 4 volumes (Brunner-Routledge)
Lockwood Reference HV6017 .E53 2001
Each volume covers a different theme.
- Volume 1, Historical, Conceptual, and Theoretical Issues
Covers the nature of crime; crime in a group context; and social control.
- Volume 2, Crime and Juvenile Delinquency
- Volume 3, Sexual Deviance
- Volume 4, Self Destructive Behavior and Disvalued Identity
Deals with alcohol and drug abuse; gambling; mental stigmas; and public attitudes.
Encyclopedia of Prisons and Correctional Facilities, 2 volumes (Sage Publications)
Lockwood Reference HV9471 .E693 2005
Topics deal with prison architecture; theories of punishment; prison reform; juvenile justice; staffing; prison security; sentencing; treatment programs; privatization of prisons; labor; race; gender; and social class.
Encyclopedia of White-Collar and Corporate Crime (Sage Publications)
Lockwood Reference HV6768 .E63 2005
Covers fraud relating to business, corporate life and securities, health care, government, the environment and consumers; legislation; and political scandals.
Encyclopedia of White-Collar Crime (Greenwood Press)
Lockwood Reference HV6768 .E65 2007
Signed articles emphasis corporate crime; current and historical cases; international crime in Italy, Switzerland, India, Sweden, Canada, and the U.S.; and theoretical descriptions of white collar crime.
Encyclopedia of Women and Crime (Oryz Press)
Capen Libraries Reference HV6046 .E56 2000
Lockwood Reference HV6046 .E56 2000
Emphasis is upon 4 themes: criminal offenders, offences and related theories; victims; policing; and punishment and treatment.
National Jail and Adult Detention Directory (American Correctional Association)
Lockwood HV9463 .N3 (1983+ with gaps; most recent in Reference)
Capen Multimedia Center MicFiche Z7554 .U5 S8 no. A1305-1 (1986+ with gaps).
Lists prisons and detention facilities by states providing names; addresses; capacities; years opened; number of staff; and brief program descriptions. Summary tables present national and state data about the number of facilities; populations and population growth; staff and salary expenses; and budgets.
The Oxford Handbook of Criminology (Oxford University Press)
Law Library General Collection HV6025 .O87 2002
Five parts cover the history and theory of criminology; social aspects of crime and criminal control; dimensions of crime, such as victimization, gender, youth, race and ethnicity, and mental illness; types of crime including violent crime, white collar crime, and substance abuse; and policing and reducing crime.
Prisons and Prison Systems: A Global Encyclopedia (Greenwood Press)
Lockwood Reference HV8665 .R67 2006
Emphasis is upon individuals; specific prisons; and penal systems throughout the world.
Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS) (U.S. Department of Justice)
BJS is the Department of Justice's primary statistical agency. Topics cover corrections, courts, victims, types of crime, and law enforcement. Special features include data analysis tools for creating customized tables. Examples pertain to arrests, victimization, juvenile justice, and recidivism rates.
Campus Security Statistics ( U.S. Department of Education. Office of Postsecondary Education (OPE))
A database of reported criminal activities on over 6,000 college campuses. Note: statistics cover alleged activities, not prosecutions or convictions.
Criminal Justice Links (U.S. Government Printing Office in cooperation with Oklahoma State University)
Links to Web sites about crime and criminal justice.
Department of Justice (DOJ)
DOJ is the central agency for enforcement of federal laws. The Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI); the Bureau of Prisons; the Drug Enforcement Agency (DEA); and the U.S. Marshals Service are among its key offices. Important links include:
- Justice.gov en español
- Reports and Publications: Alphabetical List
Printed copies of Department of Justice documents are in the University Libraries. Search the Libraries Catalog by author for "United States Dept of Justice." or browse Lockwood Library's government information collection under the call number US J.
Federal Justice Statistics Resource Center (FJSRC) (U.S. Department of Justice. Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS))
Provides case processing statistics for the federal criminal justice system. Topics cover investigations initiated; arrests and bookings; number of people charged; number of cases that have been closed; sentencing; people entering and leaving federal prisons; and year-end prison populations. Links provide online data analysis; a data archive for downloading complete data sets; publications; and statistics based upon sections of the U.S. Criminal Code (Title 18 of the U.S. Code).
Hate Crime Statistics (U.S. Department of Justice. Federal Bureau of Investigation)
Annual reports provide hate crime statistics for the nation, states, and local governments. Data describes incidents, offenses, victims, and offenders for crimes motivated by the victim's perceived race, religion, ethnicity, sexual orientation, or disability.
Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted (U.S. Department of Justice. Federal Bureau of Investigation)
Covers deliberate attacks and accidental line-of-duty deaths and assaults. Information includes weapons used; use of body armor; and circumstances surrounding murders and assaults.
National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD) (Interuniversity Consortium for Political and Social Research) (ICPSR)
ICPSR is the largest data archive in the world. Those affiliated with member institutions can download data sets without charge. UB is a member. NACJD includes files relevant to capital punishment; expenditure and employment for criminal justice; homicide; prisons; victimization; uniform crime reporting; and violence against women. View limited tables through an online data analysis system. However, most data are used best with statistical packages, such as SPSS or SAS.
Office of Justice Programs (OJP) (U.S. Department of Justice)
OJP plays a leadership role in coordinating programs, assistance, and services with state and local governments. Selected key resources are:
- National Criminal Justice Reference Service (U.S. Department of Justice. Office of Justice Programs)
A clearinghouse for sources of information on criminal and juvenile justice. A-Z Topical Index lists nearly 300 topics relating to crime and justice. (http://www.ncjrs.gov/viewall.html)
- NCJRS (National Criminal Justice Reference Service) Abstracts Database (U.S. Department of Justice. Office of Justice Programs)
Presents summaries of more than 150,000 criminal justice publications, including Federal, State, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, and unpublished research. Selected items includes links to full texts.
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics (U.S. Department of Justice. Bureau of Justice Statistics) (Discontinued with the 2003 issue.)
Lockwood HV 6787 .S68 (1973-2003 with gaps, most recent in reference)
UGL/SEL Reference HV 6787 .S68 (current edition)
Lockwood Documents US J 1.42/ 3: SD-SB- (1973-1977 with gaps)
Lockwood Documents US J 29.9: SD-SB- (1978-1984)
Lockwood Documents US J 29.9/ 6: (1985-2003 with gaps)
Presents statistical tables for a variety of crime-related data collected from over 100 sources. Topics cover public opinion; victims; arrests and seizures; prosecution and sentencing; prisons and parole; and capital punishment.
Transactional Records Access Clearinghouse (TRAC) (Syracuse University)
TRAC monitors enforcement activities of federal agencies. Coverage includes programs sponsored by the Department of Homeland Security; the Drug Enforcement Agency; the Internal Revenue Service; the FBI; and the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, and Firearms. Additional information about immigration covers reports about Department of Homeland Security priorities, immigration courts, deportations, and protecting boarders; Congressional publications; and a glossary.
Uniform Crime Reports (Alternative title: Crime in the United States ) (U.S. Department of Justice. Federal Bureau of Investigation)
Lockwood HV 6787.A3 (1998+; most recent in Reference )
Lockwood Documents US J 1.14/ 7: (1930/31+ with gaps)
UGL/SEL Reference HV 6787 .A3 (current edition)
Provides local data on crimes reported. The FBI collects statistics from state and local governments through its Uniform Crime Reporting Program.
New York State
Criminal History Record Search (CHRS) (New York State Unified Court System)
Searches for people convicted or involved in open cases in court records in all 62 New York State counties. The system requires exact names and dates of birth. Variations are unreported. Fee: $52.
Criminal Records (Ballard Spahr Andrews & Ingersoll, LLP)
Links to databases of criminal records for all 50 states. Search the New York database by names, birthdays, and Department of Correctional Services ID numbers.
New York State Division of Criminal Justice Services (DCJS)
DCJS coordinates criminal justice activities in New York State. Selected activities include advising the Governor; gathering and analyzing statistics; overseeing federal and state funds; researching issues; and training and providing legal advice to local agencies. Locate DCJS publications in the Libraries Catalog using a keyword search for criminal justice and albany or an author search for New York (State). Division of Criminal Justice Services . In addition, browse the New York State documents collection under the call number Lockwood Documents NY CRI.
Important DCJS Web links are:
- Criminal Justice Statistics
Organization of information is by the state, regions, and counties.
- DCJS Publications
A wide variety of publications cover:
- Annual Reports
- Domestic Violence & Violence Against Women
- Drug Law Reform
- Hate Crimes
- Human Trafficking
- Juvenile Crime and the Juvenile Justice System
- Mental Health
- Missing and Exploited Children Clearinghouse
- Motor Vehicle
- NYS Commission on Sentencing Reform
- Sex Offender Management
- Reference Materials
Department of Justice Canada
The Canadian federal government's key agency for administrating justice. It is comparable to the U.S. Department of Justice. Selected links include:
- A-Z Index
Organized by titles of publications and topics.
- Youth Justice
- Research and Statistics
Links to hundreds of research and statistical reports issued since 1991.
An international police agency that investigates cross-border crime. Investigations relate to terrorism; human trafficking; high tech and financial crime; and public safety. The 182 member countries include the United States.
[Links to International Law Enforcement Web Sites] (Interpol)
Links to dozens of national and international agencies and groups throughout the world.
Terrorism: A Select Guide to Information (University at Buffalo. Arts and Sciences Libraries)
An extensive guide to the global threat of terrorism, prepared by UB librarian Edward Herman.
World Factbook of Criminal Justice Systems (U.S. Department of Justice. Bureau of Justice Statistics)
Detailed essays describe criminal justice systems in nearly 50 countries. Topics cover overviews of the political and legal systems; crime and victimization; police; the judiciary; penalties and sentencing; prisons; extradition; and further references.