Properties Data for Chemicals and Materials
- Best General Sources
- Property Resource Directories
- Chemicals
- Metals and Alloys
- Polymers and Plastics
- Other Materials (Ceramics, Glass, Solvents, etc.)
- Environmental and Toxicological Properties
- Phase Diagrams
- Semiconductors
Best General Sources
- Knovel E-Books: Science and Engineering
A great place to start your search for properties data. This database provides full-text access to an online collection of over 1,000 science and engineering reference books. Many of the books are enhanced with interactive tables, graphs, and equation plotters that allow you to manipulate and customize the data.
UB ONLY - CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
This classic handbook contains hundreds of tables of critically evaluated data. The handbook is revised annually. Coverage includes analytical chemistry, astronomy, atomic and molecular physics, biochemistry, constants and units, electrochemistry, isotopes, fluid properties, geophysics, health and safety information, materials properties, nuclear and particle physics, polymer properties, and thermochemistry.
UB ONLY - NIST Chemistry WebBook
This database contains high quality data compiled by the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST). Up to 45 thermochemical, thermophysical, and ion energetics properties are available for over 40,000 compounds. Included is reaction thermochemistry data and a variety of spectra, when available. The database is predominantly organic with a few small inorganic compounds. To browse other high quality NIST databases, visit the NIST Data Gateway, which provides information for over 94 NIST databases (Note: some are not free.)
PUBLIC - MatWeb: The On-line Materials Information Resource
MatWeb provides free materials property data for over 25,400 materials. Included are polymers, metals, alloys, superalloys, ceramics, glass, fibers, composites, semiconductors and aerogels. Up to 75 properties are available for each material. Searching can be done by material type, trade name, specification number, manufacturer, up to three different property ranges, and alloy composition ranges. For a small subscription fee, additional features and search options are available.
PUBLIC - ChemSpider (Royal Society of Chemistry)
ChemSpider extracts a wide range of information about chemicals and materials by crawling the Internet in much the same way Google Scholar extracts scholarly references. The Properties heading provides basic property and safety information, much of it taken from material safety datasheets, as well as predicted properties. The Data Sources heading provides a rich set of physical, biological, metabolic, toxicology, environmental data in addition to spectral and more safety data. ChemSpider can be searched by names, substructures, CAS registry numbers, and InChI identifiers.
PUBLIC - Thermophysical Properties of High Temperature Solid Materials
This major multi-volume set covers specific heat, thermal expansion, viscosity, thermal diffusivity, thermal radiative properties, thermal conductivity, and thermal expansion for a wide range of materials. Available in print only in the Silverman Reference Collection on the 1st floor of Capen Hall under the call number REF QC173.397.P87.
Print Resource - SciFinder
Created by Chemical Abstracts Service, this database system provides detailed access to the properties of chemicals and many other types of substances via the largest substance database in the world and a very large database of references to journal and patent literature. Substance records now contain a long list of calculated and experimental properties.
UB ONLY - Yaws' Critical Property Data for Chemical Engineers and Chemists
This database contains over 290,000 data records covering physical, thermophysical, thermodynamic, transport, safety, and environmental properties for over 5,000 inorganic substances and over 35,000 organic substances.
UB ONLY - Tables of Physical and Chemical Constants (Kaye & Laby - 16th ed. 1995)
Free full-text access to this classic reference work: units & fundamental constants, general physics, chemistry, atomic and nuclear physics, engineering data, statistical methods, lab safety and quality assurance. A table of contents display is supplemented with a search engine. Also available in print in the Silverman Library [Capen] Reference Collection under the call number REF QC61 .K3 1995.
PUBLIC - Landolt-Bornstein Numerical Data & Functional Relationships in Science & Technology is currently available only in print in the Silverman Library [Capen] Reference Collection under the call number REF QC61.L3.
- LB-Comprehensive Index 1996 - Also available in print (Silverman Library Reference Colleciton under the call number QC61 .L332 Index and on CD-ROM at the workstation in the Silverman Reference Collection area.
- Substance/Property Index (Univ. of Hamburg) - Searchable by chemical name, formula, elements, element system, substructure, and CAS registry numbers
- Table of Contents
Print Resource
Property Resource Directories
- 10 Tips for Finding Property Data
This web site, created by Linda Shackle of the Noble Library at Arizona State, focuses on the process for finding property information rather than being a list of databases and other resources.
- Thermodynamic Data and Property Calculation Websites
Extensive "meta-site" maintained by the Thermodynamics Research Laboratory at the University of Illinois-Chicago.
- Quantities, Units and Symbols in Physical Chemistry, 3rd ed.
The 3rd (2007) edition is available to UB patrons through our subscription to the Knovel database. Commonly known as the Green Book, it is a helpful guide to the vast array of quantities, units, and symbols used for properties. Note that only the older edition of the Green Book is freely available online (2nd edition, 1993).
The directories and guides listed in the web guides below were prepared by librarians at other libraries whose holdings will not exactly match the print and electronic resources available to UB patrons. To check if the UB Libraries owns a particular resource cited on one of the websites below, search for it by title in the UB Libraries Catalog.
- Physical Property Searches - Chapter 13 of Chemical Information Sources wikibook.
This is a successor to the classic Indiana University web site that was maintained for many years by Dr. Gary Wiggins. The wikibook is now maintained by a group of volunteer ARL (Association of Research Libraries) university chemistry librarians coordinated by A. Ben Wagner of the University at Buffalo.
- Thermodex: An Index of Selected Thermodynamic Data Handbooks
Developed by the General Libraries at the University of Texas at Austin, this database contains records for over 120 printed handbooks and compilations of thermodynamic and thermophysical data for chemical compounds and other substances. It enables you to enter both the type of compound and type of property, and will return a list of handbooks that might contain this data.
- Arizona State University Index to Physical, Chemical, and Other Property Data
This web page starts with a brief, but well chosen, list of general reference sources and then provides a list of over 400 properties with live web links or print citations.
- Duke University Chemical & Physical Properties in the Library
The Duke University properties page focuses on local print sources for 69 properties. However, some good web links are also provided.
- Vanderbilt University Finding Chemical & Physical Properties
Extensive and easy-to-navigate web directory arranged by over 100 physical properties. Free and subscription web sources are listed along with the print sources under each property.
Chemicals (see also Environmental & Toxicological Properties Section)
Beyond the resources listed in the "Best General Resources" section above.
- Chemical Properties Handbook
Contains properties data for both organic (C1 to C28) and inorganic (Ag to Zn) substances for a range of temperatures and conditions. Available in print in the Silverman Library [Capen] Reference Collection , call number REF TP200 .Y35 1999.
Print Resource - Gmelin's Handbook of Inorganic and Organometallic Chemistry (print only) is an extensive multi-volume collection of data for inorganic and organometallic compounds. The print volumes are available in the Silverman Library [Capen] Reference Collection under the call number REF QD 151.G63. The print edition ceased publication at the end of 1997; however, UB's subscription ended in 1993, though a few post-1993 volumes have been acquired. Though many of the volumes are in German, English table of contents and section headings in the page margins are provided for all but the very oldest volumes. Print Resource
- ChemExper Chemical Directory
This web site provides a metasearch of over 70,000 chemicals from more than 20 supplier catalogs. The directory can be searched by registry number, molecular formula, chemical names, physical and chemical characteristics, and substructure. Links are provided to the supplier's web site and to 16,000 MSDS, mostly from Acros. Only the basic properties are directly provided: density, melting point, boiling point, and flash point. However, links to the full-text of the MSDS will usually provide some additional properties.
PUBLIC - CODATA Key Values for Thermodynamics
The Committee on Data for Science and Technology (CODATA) has established internationally agreed upon values for the thermodynamic properties of key chemical substances. Use of these recommended, internally consistent values is encouraged in the analysis of thermodynamic measurements, data reduction, and preparation of other thermodynamic tables.
PUBLIC - International Critical Tables of Numeric Data, Physics, Chemistry and Technology (National Research Council/Knovel) and Knovel Critical Tables
The International Critical Tables, a classic source for physical properties, has now been extended by Knovel, whose version has over 40 interatcive tables.
UB ONLY - IUPAC-NIST Solubility Database
This database contains mutual solubility and liquid-liquid equilibrium data tables for 4,400 systems of up to 4 components. The data is taken from selected volumes of the IUPAC Solubility Data Series originally published by Pergamon Press. The complete set of the print volumes are found under various call numbers in the Silverman Library [Capen] Reference Collection. Simply search the Catalog by the series titles, "Solubility Data Series."
PUBLIC - The Dictionary of Organic Compounds
Published by Chapman & Hall, this work is available in print in the Silverman Library Reference Collection (call number REF QD251.D49 1982). Basic properties are given for a large number of chemicals.
Print Resource - The Merck Index
The Merck Index is available in print (Silverman Library Reference Collection, call number REF RS356.M524) and as a structure-searchable CD-ROM (also in the Silverman Reference area). In addition to basic properties, includes a concise history of the preparation and use of nearly 10,000 chemicals, drugs, and biologicals.
Print Resource - The TRC Comprehensive Index
On CD-ROM, provides a master index to a little known but superb set of data compilations by the Texas Engineering Experiment Station's Thermodynamics Research Center. The CD-ROM is mounted on a workstation located in Silverman Library [Capen] Reference area. The index entries reference a number of printed loose-leaf sets on the reference shelves.
PUBLIC - WebElements
An interactive periodic table containing property data for all known chemical elements.
PUBLIC - Yaws' Handbook of Thermodynamic and Physical Properties of Chemical Compounds
Covers properties over a range of temperatures for 5,000 organic chemical compounds from C1 to C70 organics. All tables in this book are interactive (live) and most contain live equations for easy calculation and plotting of the properties. Available to UB with our subscription to the Knovel e-books database.
UB ONLY
Metals and Alloys
Beyond the resources listed in the Best General Resources Section.
- ASM Handbook in Print
The 21-volume ASM Handbook covere metals as well as nonmetallic structural materials including plastics, ceramics, and composites, with detailed information on materials properties, processes, performance, manufacture, and selection. Available in print in the Silverman Library [Capen] Reference Collection, call number REF TA459 .A5 10th.
Print Resource - ASM Handbook Online. Through our subscription to Knovel, UB also has online access to the ASM Handbook, by volume:
UB ONLY
- Vol. 1 - Properties and Selection: Irons, Steels, and High-Performance Alloys
- Vol. 2 - Properties and Selection: Non-Ferrous Alloys and Special-Purpose Materials
- Vol. 3 - Alloy Phase Diagrams
- Vol. 4 - Heat Treating
- Vol. 5 - Surface Engineering
- Vol. 6 - Welding, Brazing, and Soldering
- Vol. 6A - Welding Fundamentals and Processing
- Vol. 7 - Powder Metal Technologies and Applications
- Vol. 8 - Mechanical Testing and Evaluation
- Vol. 9 - Metallography and Microstructures
- Vol. 10 - Materials Characterization
- Vol. 11 - Failure Analysis and Prevention
- Vol. 12 - Fractography
- Vol. 13A - Corrosion: Fundamentals, Testing, and Protection
- Vol. 13B - Corrosion: Materials
- Vol. 13C - Corrosion: Environments and Industries
- Vol. 14A - Metalworking: Bulk Forming
- Vol. 14B - Metalworking: Sheet Forming
- Vol. 15 - Casting
- Vol. 16 - Machining
- Vol. 17 - Nondestructive Evaluation and Quality Control
- Vol. 18 - Friction, Lubrication, and Wear Technology
- Vol. 19 - Fatigue and Fracture
- Vol. 20 - Materials Selection and Design
- Vol. 21 - Composites
- Vol. 22A - Fundamentals of Modeling for Metals Processing
- Vol. 22B - Metals Process Simulation
- Vol. 23 - Materials for Medical Devices
- Aluminum Alloy Database
This database, available through our subscription to Knovel, provides physical, mechanical, and chemical properties of both wrought and cast aluminum alloys.
UB ONLY - Smithells Metals Reference Book (8th ed)
This classic handbook, available online through UB's subscription to Knovel, contains information on the technology and science of metallic materials including physical, chemical, electrical, mechanical, and magnetic properties of metals.
UB ONLY - Metallic Materials Properties Development and Standardization
The 2003 Metallic Material Properties Development and Standardization (MMPDS) Handbook is the replacement document for MILHDBK- 5. It is recognized internationally as a reliable source of aircraft materials data for aerospace materials selection and analysis, with sections on steel, aluminum, magnesium, titanium and their alloys as well as other, miscellaneous alloys and hybrid materials. UB access is through the Knovel e-books database.
UB ONLY - The PGM Database
Created by Johnson Matthey, this database provides detailed properties of platinum group metals and their alloys including phase diagrams.
PUBLIC
Polymers and Plastics
- Engineered Materials Handbook: Engineering Plastics, Vol. 2
This print handbook, shelved in the Silverman Library Reference Collection under the call number REF TA403.E497 1987 v.2, includes physical, electrical, optical, thermal, mechanical, and chemical properties for all forms of engineering plastics. Each section is arranged by polymer class and covers all aspects of the technology.
Print Resource - Polymer Handbook
Available to UB online, this handbook contains over 70 tables with data and constants for polymers. Tables are divided into eight sections: nomenclature rules; polymerization and depolymerization; physical properties of monomers and solvents; physical data of oligomers; physical constants of important polymers; solid state properties; solution properties; and abbreviations of polymers. Also includes phase diagrams. The print edition is shelved in the Silverman Reference Collection (call number REF QD388.P65).
UB ONLY - Plastics Additives Database
SpecialChem operates a set of free information services to link users and suppliers of plastic additives. A 9,500 product database from about 260 suppliers can be searched by additive function, base polymer, trade name, supplier, and keywords. The search can be limited to additives approved for food contact. Technical articles, datasheets, links to supplier web sites, and Web forms for requesting quotations, technical data, or samples are available. Free registration is required to display much of the information.
PUBLIC - PLASPEC Basic
Plastics Technology Magazine provides information on over 13,190 grades of plastics. They are searchable by about 60 properties, supplier name, resin family, descriptive terms like color, and price ranges. As expected, properties related to processing and use of plastics such as cure time, melt viscosity, impact strength, and flammability are emphasized. Users can choose either the basic (free) version or PlaspecComplete, which contains advanced search and data organization features.
PUBLIC - CRC Handbook of Thermodynamic Data of Aqueous Polymer Solutions
CRC Handbook of Thermodynamic Data of Copolymer Solutions
CRC Handbook of Thermodynamic Data of Polymer Solutions at Elevated PressuresSet of three handbooks available to the UB community through our subscription to CRC Press' e-books platform CRCnetBASE (formerly ENGnetBASE).
UB ONLY - Fatigue and Tribological Properties of Plastics and Elastomers, 2nd Edition (2010)
This handbook, available through our subscription to Knovel, represents a collection of test results for over 100 plastics and elastomers for various fatigue and tribological properties. Results are presented in textual, graphical, and tabular formats.
UB ONLY
Other Materials
Beyond the resources listed in the Best General Resources Section.
- Biomaterials Properties Database
Tables of property data provided as a service by the University of Michigan-NIDR Materials Science Research Center at the University of Michigan School of Dentistry.
PUBLIC - Food Properties Handbook
This print handbook contains a variety of properties data for food. It is shelved in the Silverman Library Reference Collection, call number REF TX541 .F67 1995.
Print Resource - NIST Ceramics WebBook
This resource consists of two searchable databases, High-Temperature Superconductors (WebHTS) and Structural Ceramics (WebSCD), and one browsable collection of property data summaries (WebPDS) for six categories of ceramics. The superconductor database provides evaluated thermal, mechanical, and superconducting properties for oxide superconductors. Materials are searchable by chemical family, informal name, structure type, and desired property. The structural database provides evaluated data for a wide range of structural, engineering, and fine ceramics.
PUBLIC - NIST Heat Transmission Properties of Insulating and Building Materials
This database contains thermal conductivity data from over 2,000 measurements covering materials typically used in building construction including concrete, fiberboard, plastics, thermal insulation, and rubber. The data cover a temperature range corresponding to most building applications.
PUBLIC - Handbook of Glass Properties
Compilation of thermal, mechanical, electrical, and other properties for a wide range of glasses. Available to UB with our subscription to the Knovel e-books database.
UB ONLY - Knovel Solvents - A Properties Database
A comprehensive collection of over 145 properties for over 1600 different solvents. Available to UB with our subscription to the Knovel e-books database.
UB ONLY - Solv-DB
Sponsored by the National Center for Manufacturing Sciences (NCMS), at least 224 solvents can be searched by eight different parameters including solvent name, CAS registry number, molecular formula, and chemical category. Nine different properties are range searchable including flash point, vapor pressure, density, and surface tension. Up to 33 more properties can be displayed for each solvent. Extensive information is provided for each solvent with display of health, safety, regulatory, and environmental fate data.
PUBLIC
Environmental and Toxicological Properties
- TOXNET
Created by the National Library of Medicine, TOXNET is a set of high quality databases that provides extensive summary information on the environmental and toxicological properties of substances. One of the best TOXNET databases to start with is the Hazardous Substances Data Bank (HSDB), which is a carefully reviewed summary of 4,700 compounds with all information on each compound appearing in a single, well-structured record.
PUBLIC - Handbook of Environmental Data on Organic Chemicals (5th ed., 2009)
Compiled by Karel Verschueren and available via Knovel, this reference work contains extensive information related to environmental effect and fate of organic chemicals.
UB ONLY - Dictionary of Substances and Their Effects
This 2005 electronic version of the original seven-volume reference work published by the Royal Society of Chemistry is available to the UB community via Knovel. It contains information on approximately 5,300 chemicals and their impact on the environment. Includes detailed information about the toxicity of the chemicals, physical properties and regulatory requirements. The information can be accessed through a live summary table that links to the detailed summaries or by browsing the table of contents for a specific chemical.
UB ONLY - Handbook of Hazardous Chemical Properties
This book, available via Knovel, provides chemical specific information pertinent to safe handling and transportation of chemicals, worker protection, emergency response information to address spills, explosions on fire situations, and chemical stability/reactivity data.
UB ONLY - Environmental Contaminant Reference Databook
This three-volume book, available via Knovel, focuses on the environmental effects of potentially dangerous, federally regulated chemicals as well as those chemicals of special interest to safety professionals. Includes physical, chemical, and biological properties of environmental chemicals and mixtures.
UB ONLY - Physical Properties Database - PHYSPROP
The Syracuse Research Corporation has developed a series of environmental chemistry databases containing chemical structures, names, and physical properties for over 25,250 chemicals. Some of the values are estimated rather than experimental. Up to eight physical properties are provided: m.p., b.p., water solubility, octanol-water partition coefficient, vapor pressure, pKa (acidity), Henry's law constant, and OH rate constant in the atmosphere.
PUBLIC - Patty's Toxicology (5th ed., 2001)
Patty's contains toxicological data on industrial chemicals that pose potential health hazards to workers. Available to UB faculty, students, and staff through our subscription to Knovel.
UB ONLY - Sax's Dangerous Properties of Industrial Materials (12th ed., 2012)
Includes comprehensive hazard information on substances encountered in the workplace. Available to the UB community through the UB Libraries' subscription to Knovel.
UB ONLY - Sittig's Handbook of Toxic and Hazardous Chemicals and Carcinogens (6th ed., 2012)
The electronic version of the fourth edition of this classic title, available via Knovel, is the most complete reference available providing information on almost 1,400 of the most heavily used, transported, and regulated chemical substances of occupational and environmental concern.
UB ONLY - Illustrated Handbook of Physical-Chemical Properties and Environmental Fate for Organic Chemicals
Compiled by Donald MacKay, this is an extensive collection of data contained in a multi-volume set. The volumes are shelved in the Silverman Library [Capen] Reference Collection, call number REF TD196.O73 M32 1992.
Print Resource
Phase Diagrams
- Phase Diagrams for Ceramists, NIST, 12 vols. plus index, Silverman Library Reference Colleciton, REF QD501 .L592.
Print Resource
- Phase Diagrams: A Literature Source Book, J. Wisniak, 2 vols., 1981+1986 Supplement, Silverman Library Reference Collection, REF QD503 .W575
Print Resource
- Binary Alloy Phase Diagrams, T. Massalski, 3 vols., 2nd ed., 1990, Silverman Library Reference Collection, REF TN690 .B528
Print Resource
- Ternary Alloys, G. Petzow and G. Effenburg, 6 vols., 1988-1993, Silverman Library Reference Collection, REF TN690 .T438
Print Resource
- Handbook of Ternary Alloy Phase Diagrams, ASM, 10 vols., 1997, Silverman Library Reference Collection, REF TN690 .V493
Print Resource
Semiconductors
Through the UB Libraries' subscription to Knovel, UB has online access to the following titles in the INSPEC EMIS Datareview Series; these provide selected properties data for the following:
UB ONLY
- Properties, Growth and Applications of Diamond
- Properties of Aluminum Gallium Arsenide
- Properties of Amorphous Carbon
- Properties of Amorphous Silicon and its Alloys
- Properties of Crystalline Silicon
- Properties of Gallium Arsenide
- Properties of Indium Phosphide
- Properties of Lattice-Matched and Strained Indium Gallium Arsenide
- Properties of Lithium Niobate
- Properties of Narrow Gap Cadmium-based Compounds
- Properties of Porous Silicon
- Properties of Silicon Carbide
- Properties of Silicon Germanium and SiGe: Carbon
- Properties of Wide Bandgap II-VI Semiconductors