United States Federal
Browse Topic: Labor-Management Relations (U.S. Government Printing Office in cooperation with Oklahoma State University)
Links to Web sites sponsored by key U.S. government agencies.
Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) (U.S. Department of Labor)
BLS is the U.S. Department of Labor's primary statistical gathering agency. Data covers prices; wages; productivity; job safety; occupations; demographics; and industries. Use the A to Z Index (http://stats.bls.gov/bls/topicsaz.htm) to locate data on a wide variety of labor-related topics. Key BLS Web sites include:
- Injuries, Illnesses, and Fatalities (IIF)
- Local Statistics
Current Employment Statistics (CES)
CES is a monthly survey of 160,000 businesses and government agencies. Statistics cover employment; hours; and earnings for people on non-farm payrolls in all states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, and 400 metropolitan areas.
Local Area Unemployment Statistics (LAUS)
Monthly and annual statistics measure employment, unemployment, and labor force data for census regions and divisions, states, counties, metropolitan areas, and selected cities by place of residence.
Location Quotient Calculator
Compare labor and industrial activity in a specified area to other geographies. Choose from among the nation, states, metropolitan areas, or counties. Data are comparable on a ration and percentage basis.
- Mass Layoff Statistics (MLS)
The Bureau of Labor Statistics collects data from businesses that have at least 50 initial unemployment insurance claims in a 5-week period.
- National Compensation Survey (NCS)
Measures occupational earnings and trends, and employee benefits for the nation, broad geographic regions, and metropolitan and non-metropolitan areas. The Employment Cost Index (ECI), a quarterly measure of changes in labor costs, is part of this program.
- Office of Occupational Statistics and Employment Projections
Provides national labor projections for 10-year periods.
Create Customized Tables (U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics)
Tables cover employment and unemployment; prices; compensation and working conditions; and technology and productivity.
Employee Benefits Security Administration (EBSA) ( U.S. Department of Labor)
EBSA protects the integrity of worker benefits, such as pensions and health plans by helping people exercise their rights and acquire information. The agency also assists pension plan administrators in understanding their requirements and relevant responsibilities. Links lead to relevant legislation and regulations; news; fact sheets; speeches and testimonies; publications; forms; and consumer information.
Office of Labor-Management Standards (OLMS) (U.S. Department of Labor)
OLMS promotes union democracy and financial integrity in the private by setting standards for elections and handling of finances. Links lead to relevant laws and regulations, resources for acquiring help, a regulatory library, and current news.
Handbook of U.S. Labor Statistics (Bernan Press)
Lockwood HD8051 .A63 (1997+; most recent in reference)
Compiles statistical tables on a variety of labor topics, such as employment; earnings; prices; productivity; occupational safety; and labor relations. Selected tables provide historical comparisons. Earlier editions published by the Bureau of Labor Statistics are in the Lockwood Documents Collection at US L 2.3/5 (1969-1989 with selected gaps).
Key Workplace Documents (Cornell University. School of Industrial and Labor Relations)
Provides access to important documents published by associations, the federal government, Cornell's School of Industrial and Labor Relations, international agencies, and New York State. Federal publications include those issued by the Women's Bureau; the Bureau of Labor Statistics; the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission; the Congressional Research Service; and the Glass Ceiling Commission. The Glass Ceiling Commission investigated attitudinal and organizational barriers preventing qualified people from advancing.
Local Employment Dynamics (LED) (U.S. Census Bureau in partnership with state labor agencies)
LED uses federal and state administrative records, plus census surveys, to produce statistics about job creation and labor force turnovers. All states participate, excluding Connecticut, Massachusetts, and New Hampshire, nor does the District of Columbia. Three key parts of LED include:
- Industry Focus: Selecting Top Industries
Ranks industries by employment and growth in employment; new hires; firm job changes (turnovers); monthly earnings for all employees and new hires; and growth rates of monthly earnings.
Maps illustrates where workers live in relation to where they work. Additional data measures the workforce by age, earnings, industries, and local indicators.
- Quarterly Workforce Indicators (QWI)
Measures employment; job creation; average wages of all employees and those of new hires; and job turnovers by age, sex, and gender. Quarterly data covers 2001 to date.
Occupational Safety & Health Administration (OSHA) (U.S. Department of Labor)
Enforces safety standards that prevent work-related injuries, illnesses, and deaths. Locate information 2 ways.
- A-Z Index
Includes a comprehensive list of industries and types of hazards workers face.
- Safety and Health Topics
Select information from among a list of industries and chemicals.
See also the Bureau of Labor Statistics
Statistics ( U.S. Department of Labor)
Links to statistics collected by the Department of Labor on a wide variety of subjects. Topics include business costs; demographics; employment and unemployment; industries; inflation and spending; international data; occupations; productivity; safety and health; and wages, earnings and benefits.
U.S. Department of Labor (DOL)
DOL is responsible for administering and enforcing laws and regulations relating to employment. Its Search / A to Z Index at http://www.dol.gov/dol/siteindex.htm lists issues and topics workers face, and Department of Labor offices.
The Government Documents collection in Lockwood Memorial Library has many Department of Labor publications. Locate them in the Libraries Catalog through an author search for United States Dept of Labor, or browse the government documents collection beginning at the call number US L.
Issues statistics and publications concerning women in the U.S. workforce.
National Labor Relations Board (NLRB)
NLRB is an independent federal agency that investigates allegations of unfair labor practices. Consult Rights We Protect
(http://www.nlrb.gov/rights-we-protect) for information about employee and employer rights, and union rights and obligations.
Office of Labor-Management Standards (OLMS) (U.S. Department of Labor. Employment Standards Administration)
OLMS administers collective bargaining through the Labor-Management Reporting and Disclosure Act of 1959, as amended (LMRDA). LMRDA provides a bill of rights for union members; labor union reporting and disclosure requirements; standards for union elections; and safeguards that protect union funds. Links lead to union reports and contracts; forms and instructions; laws and regulations; press releases and information about filing complaints, elections, freedom of information, and financial safeguards.
See http://www.bls.gov/cps/lfcharacteristics.htm#union for statistics about union membership.
State Labor Departments
Department of Labor Web Sites (EmployeeIssues.com)
Provides contact information, addresses, and Internet links to labor departments of all 50 states. See also State Labor Market Information Contact List (U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics) at http://www.bls.gov/bls/ofolist.htm.
New York State Department of Labor
Topics cover jobs; unemployment insurance; wages and hours; worker safety; veteran services; worker rights; and labor force statistics.
The New York State government documents collection in Lockwood Memorial Library contains selected publications from the Department of Labor. Locate these in the Libraries Catalog searching by author under "New York (State) Dept of Labor," or browse the collection beginning with the call number Lockwood Documents NY LAB.
Workforce Data (New York State. Department of Labor)
Statistics cover the local labor supply; wage rates; occupational projections; EEO/Affirmative Action information; jobs in the news; and business newsletters.
Workforce New York (New York State. Department of Labor)
The Workforce Investment Act (1998) requires that states designate local workforce investment agencies (WIAs) to integrate workforce development, training, and education. Links describe eligible trainers; funding opportunities; information about the NY State Workforce Investment Board that oversees WIAs; and services.
Search tip: When performing a search for international labor information in the Libraries Catalog or elsewhere, remember to try the variant spelling labour in order to retrieve more results.
Bulletin of Labour Statistics (International Labour Organization) (ILO)
Lockwood Periodicals Per HD4826 .I53 (1967- ; current issues shelved by title)
Reproduces monthly data for the most recent 4 years about employment and unemployment; hours; wages; and consumer price indexes. See also the Yearbook of Labour Statistics.
Foreign Labor Statistics (U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics)
Provides international comparisons of numbers of workers in the labor force; hourly compensation costs; productivity; labor costs; employment and unemployment rates; and consumer prices.
Handbook of U.S. Labor Statistics
Although most data pertain to the American labor force, the editors include a chapter on foreign labor and prices.
International Labour Organization (ILO)
The ILO is a United Nations agency that develops international labor standards for wages, working conditions, and industrial relations. Consult ILOs LABORSTA for detailed labor statistics.
LABORSTA (International Labour Organization) (ILO)
Contains current and historical data for over 200 countries. Subjects cover employment and unemployment; hours of work; wages; the consumer price index and food prices; household income and expenditures; poverty; occupations; and public sector employment. ILO includes detailed information about sources and methodologies.
Labour Program (Human Resources and Social Development Canada)
The Canadian equivalent of the U.S. Department of Labor includes information on wages and workplace safety. See Statistics Canada (http://www.statcan.gc.ca/start-debut-eng.html) and E-Stat (http://library.buffalo.edu/e-resources/e-stat.html) for statistical tables relating to employment in Canada.
Statistical Sites on the World Wide Web (U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics)
Although it includes a limited number of U.S. sites, links lead primarily to foreign government statistical agencies.
Yearbook of Labour Statistics
Lockwood Reference HD7801 .I653. (current edition)
Lockwood Book Collection HD7801 .I653 (1935-previous edition)
A comprehensive annual compilation from the International Labour Organization. Consult the Bulletin of Labour Statistics for current monthly data.